Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This question about rolling hasn't come up in a game yet, but it could so I want to know what to do about it ahead of time. Here goes: Daemon player has Fateweaver on the table and he is playing a (cursed) Space Marine player. The Marine player has a Librarian who has used the power "Null Zone" near Fateweaver and the units around Fateweaver. Lets say a marine unit attacks a Daemon unit that is within Fateweaver's protection zone and within the Null Zone. The Daemon unit suffers a wound. He makes his first invulnerable save and then needs to reroll because of Null Zone. If he fails that roll, he gets to reroll under Fateweaver. If he makes that roll, does he need to reroll that under the Null Zone again? It says under the Null Zone "must reroll successful Invulnerable saving throws". If you fail that, shouldn't you reroll that failed save under Fateweaver's power again? Wouldn't this go on until you fail two saves? Where do you draw a line in the sand?
It states in the rulebook that you may never reroll a reroll. SO what would happen is either:
1) Pass the invulnerable save and would be forced to reroll it (because of Null Zone)
2) Fail the first invulnerable save then get to reroll it (because of Fateweaver's ability).
This kind of problem crops up a couple times in the game, but the vast vast majority are solved with remembering "never reroll a reroll".
Hopes this helps
When in doubt, more Bloodcrushers
Most people play it that they cancel out. Otherwise, roll everything. Then pick up all the dice and re-roll them all again. Remember, you can never re-roll a re-roll so you just re-roll them once.
PS - also, this is very important. Many marine players make the mistake of thinking Null Zone works for the entire game turn (that means his turn and your turn). It doesn't. It only works on his turn. On your turn, it's effects are gone.
Last edited by jy2; July 15th, 2011 at 06:45.
Record: Win - Loss - Draw: Hive Fleet Pandora (New) 32-6-6 Space Wolf 7th Co. 52-11-6
Blood Angels 12-4-2 Daemonhunters 20-8-3
Imperial Guards 12-5-2 Daemons 8-3-2
This was answered in the FAQ.
They said (just like has been said here) that every dice would be reroled once.
But they also said that to save time both sides can agree that they cancel each other out and just accept the first role.
Tau: 6K - W17-D3-L4, Orks: 4K - W9-D0-L2, SM: 7K - W7-D3-L4,CSM: 4K W5-D1-L1, Nids: 3.2K W3-D0-L2
Apoc games (mixture of armies used): W5-D0-L1