Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
stupid question here are force weapons on all the time and u have to active the power to kill kill something with a bunch wounds. Just wonder because i was playing against a grey knight player and i had 2 blood thirstier with blessing of the blood god and he like said he was going to turn on his force weapons so i couldn't get my 2 save can they really do that?
A force weapon is a force weapon so you get the 2++ no matter what.
Though you would still be subject to the Daeomonbane rule in the GK codex if you did fail the 2++.
Force weapons have to be activated by a Psychic test to work, though they always count as power weapons. Because it's instant kill ability is basically a Psychic power, you would get the invulnerable save from Blessings of the Blood God. If he didn't activate his force weapon, you only use your regular invulnerable save, and no armour save. Because you are a daemon however, you have the Eternal Warrior special rule and therefore cannot be instant killed. So let him activate his force weapons against you, you get a better save and still only suffer one wound if you fail it.
However, if he is a Grey Knight player then he probably has Nemesis Force Weapons, which are slightly different. Against all other opponents, they work as regular force weapons, but if used against a daemon, then the daemon player has to take a Leadership test for every unsaved wound they take. If that is failed, then the daemon is removed as a casualty, regardless of how many wounds it has left.
Your 2+ save counts against force weapons. It doesn't say counts against force weapons only when they are activated for instant death. Since the entire daemon codex is imune to instant death the enemy have no reason to activate them and therefore the wargear would be cmpletely useless.
A force weapon that is not activated is still a force weapon but has the same effect as a power weapon.
Quorn! - Protein for the Protein God.
Now correct me if I'm wrong, but I've read in multiple places that force weapons don't instakill you, but rather "immediately removes from play". I've just seen this argument before in saying that to force weapon someone isn't the same and does not apply to eternal warrior.
Eternity Guard (SM) W-15/L-5/D-3
Lizardmen w16/ L1/ d2 :On hiatus since new rules... =/
Forceweapons as per the basic 40k rulebook cause instant death if activated. Up until recently grey knight forceweapons used to remove all wounds from a target rather than cause instant death as the daemonhunter codex said they did. But now the grey knight codex just uses the rulebook definition of a forceweapon so instant death it is. Not sure about other old codexes such as black templar.
Quorn! - Protein for the Protein God.
Templars have no psykers being the witch-hating loonies that they are!
All force weapons now work as per the 40k rulebook rules, since the 'hunter 'dexes no longer exist...
As pointed out, a Force Weapons;
a) counts as power weapon in combat
b) when you successfully wound and opponent with multiple wounds, (ie: they fail their save/s), you may 'activate' your force weapon by passing Ld test in order to inflict 'Instant Death!' on the enemy model.
c) activating your force weapon counts as using a psychic power, so your opponent can't use another psychic in the same turn unless his psyker has (typically) bought the relevent upgrade
Now, as far as we Daemons are concerned;
a) every single model in our army has the 'Eternal Warrior' rule. (and are thus immune to 'Instant Death!' causing attacks like an activated force weapon)
b) Blessing of the Blood God gives a 2++ vs all wounds caused by psychic powers & force weapons!
The bigger problem with Grey Knights however;
a) they all wield 'Nemesis Force Weapons', which not only follow the normal rules for force weapons, but have the 'Daemonbane' ability as well... Basically as mentioned above, if any daemon or psyker takes an unsaved wound from a NFW, you have to pass a single Ld test and if you fail it, your daemon/psyker is 'removed from play'. (ie: it's a stupid ability that lets GK's bypass one of our major advantages...)
b) GK librarians & dreadknights can buy or else come qith a psychic power called 'Dark Excomunication', which will outright nullify and remove every daemonic gift from 1 unit in base-to-base with the GK model. (because god forbid we actually get to keep some form of protection against GK's!)
Long and short of it, GK's are ungodly good against us. Sure we can beat them, but it's not a fun game in any way...
Isn't there also some GK rule about enabling/activating Force Weapons, to get over the fact that they are not all individual psykers but in fact the unit acts as a single psyker? If not, then a single model using a Force-induced Instant Death would use up the single power per turn for that unit, no? I haven't seen the GK dex, but i've listened to enough enthusiasm from players to suggest something of this ilk, but not sure on the exact wording.
There are three types of people in this world -- those who can count, and those who cannot.
Those dastardly GK Chesterton's ( I am sure none of you know what I am taking about) just have to take 1 Psychic power for the whole squads weapons to count as having force weapons. As for them being able to use 2 powers per turn (Hammerhand and then Force Weapons) I don't believe they are allowed an extra power.
The Wolf time is upon us!
Rep for the Rep God! Positive for the Positive Throne!
Armies: Space Wolves, Imperial Guard, Emperors Children, Necrons, Eldar
The really annoying thing w/GK's though - techmarines!!! They can take the broken grenades, and come w/hammerhand. So by paying your 'Russel Crowe' tax, you can easily get 2-3 of your front line fighting squads upto S5 with activated pointy death sticks that hit at I6.
Seriously, any GK not adding techmarines into their armies @ 1800pts and higher isn't thinking strait... (draigowing, purifyers & henchmen all benifit greatly from this)