Noobish questions. - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Senior Member animated_shadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Louth, Ireland.
    Posts
    419
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    133 (x2)

    Noobish questions.

    Hello Chaos people.

    After deciding I'm fed up of painting green, I took a break from my orks and went in search of a cool, themed army I could build for fun.
    I ended up with a Nurgle- themed csm army. So much for not painting green :/

    Anyway I have a couple of noobish questions about my new budding army.
    1. Is Typhus ever worth it?
    2. Is Nurgles rot feasible on a chaos sorcerer?
    3. can summoned lesser daemons hold objectives?

    Thanks in advance LO.

    W/D/L Rumpin' BackThumpa's WAAAGH, 38/3/21

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Ghost of Rage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Age
    32
    Posts
    784
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    56 (x2)

    1. Not really, he costs a ton of points and is taken out by a single powerfist, which run rampant in pretty well every list you see.

    2. Nurgle's Rot is an okay power, really only usable on horde armies, though now that Warptime and Lash of Submission (our once go to powers) got nerfed, who knows.

    3. Yes, they still count as troops, they just don't take up a spot on the FOC.
    World Eaters: W-47 D-10 L-9
    Necrons: W-19 D-3 L-2
    Protectorate of Menoth: W-36 D-0 L-7

  4. #3
    Martial of the Riddermark
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    898
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    57 (x2)

    1. No
    2. Vs hordes yes, otherwise no/maybe
    3. Yes
    adamwelton "Bliss-giver is right as always."
    "Opportunities multiply as they are seized."

  5. #4
    LO Zealot Col. Dracus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,540
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    196 (x5)

    I agree with the 2 above me.

  6. #5
    The other Kind of Fluff Rabbit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    with Alice
    Age
    39
    Posts
    8,843
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    946 (x8)

    Just throwing this out there: In my neck of the woods, there has been some lingering debate as to whether or not lesser daemons can claim objectives. While I've argued in favor of them having Scoring status, at the same time, you should probably be prepared on the off chance to hear a counter argument as to why they cannot claim objectives. The quasi-ridiculous argument stems from the Scoring Unit section of the Core Book, which states, "An Army's scoring units are all the units that come from its Troops allowance" (the snag being "allowance," which is left undefined). Some people have claimed that "troop allowance" is synonymous with those units that take up a Force Organization slot. As such, lesser daemons would not count as scoring units. Seems rather a stretch to me...
    Spambot kill tally. . .337

  7. #6
    Senior Member Kantoken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Under your bed; or in your closet.
    Posts
    667
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    78 (x2)

    1. Is Typhus ever worth it?
    Sure he is! A forceweapon, psychic powers which automatically work, and a few other rules which make him quite the characterful leader for your army. One of the other replies stated that he is able to be taken out by a powerfist, but then again: which toughness 4 leader isn't? Besides that, he looks cool as hell!

    2. Is Nurgles rot feasible on a chaos sorcerer?
    It's not expensive points-wise and you create more ways (and therefore chances) of killing of your enemies.

    3. can summoned lesser daemons hold objectives?
    I'm convinced they can, 'tho Rabbit's reply made me think. I haven't encountered anyone yet who would discuss this, claiming them not proper Troops, but I think that if the daemons couldn't hold them, they would have had a special rule telling you this.
    ------------------------------------
    Innovation suffuses this hobby like a tea bag in the boiling water of play.

  8. Thanksadamwelton thanked for this post.
  9. #7
    Senior Member animated_shadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Louth, Ireland.
    Posts
    419
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    133 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Kantoken View Post

    3. can summoned lesser daemons hold objectives?
    I'm convinced they can, 'tho Rabbit's reply made me think. I haven't encountered anyone yet who would discuss this, claiming them not proper Troops, but I think that if the daemons couldn't hold them, they would have had a special rule telling you this.
    With the chaos codex being 4th ed, maybe they didn't consider that?


    BTW thanks to everyone who replied.
    Last edited by animated_shadow; February 2nd, 2012 at 18:48. Reason: forgot my manners.
    W/D/L Rumpin' BackThumpa's WAAAGH, 38/3/21

  10. #8
    Senior Member Arjuna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    406
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    66 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Kantoken View Post
    I haven't encountered anyone yet who would discuss this, claiming them not proper Troops, but I think that if the daemons couldn't hold them, they would have had a special rule telling you this.
    Indeed, there is precedence in the SW codex where the puppys can't hold objectives...
    win some, lose some

  11. #9
    LO Zealot Col. Dracus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,540
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    196 (x5)

    What puppies do you speak of? I don't know of any in the SW codex that can be taken as troops.

  12. #10
    Senior Member Arjuna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    406
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    66 (x1)

    Aren't the "proper" wolves troops when you take a certain something? I don't own the SW codex myself otherwise I'd be able to make a more thorough explanation...It's just what I heard from someone somewhere, and that they cannot hold objectives anyway...
    win some, lose some

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts