Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I just watched a Battle Report online and it left me confused. The guy says that Soul Grinder can only fire ONE weapon on the turn he comes in from Deep Strike. I was lead to believe Soul Grinder could fire ALL of his weapons after Deep Strike because he is a walker and none of his weapons are ordnance. Then there was the Deep Strike; he brought down 15 Bloodletters and scattered. The final position of his first model was right beside a stone pillar. When he placed his models, he could not make a complete circle because of the pillar, so he made a semi-circle around it instead then took terrain tests. Now my view of the Deep Strike rule was that you must make a base to base circle around the first model and if any landed in impassable terrain, it was a mishap. I can't see a stone pillar being anything but impassable; it's like phasing into the wall of a building. Am I missing something, because it wouldn't be the first time.
Not sure about the Soul Grinder, but the Bloodletters would definitely be a mishap in that case. He was cheating by not making a complete circle.
The Soul Grinder can shoot both its guns when it Deepstrikes it follows the same rules as walkers. The only confusing one Daemons got right now is the Plaguefather, his special ability in older books says its ordanance, in the faq and newer books it says Heavy 1 so he can fire his when deepstriking also. The semi circle thing is a nono regardless if it was a mishap or not, if they decided it was ruins he would still have to go in a complete circle first. The problem is the pillar like ruins you kind of run into these problems due to ruins psychically being in the way but not counting as impassable so you can deepstrike into the ruins but may not be able to make the circle complete due to terrain. In my case as long as the center one is standing I am fine usually just put what I can down make the tests and wait till I can move the unit to physically place the rest on the table.
I guess this boils down to what exactly is impassable terrain. To me a stone pillar that stands about 8-10" tall would have to be impassable because you could not put anything on top of it without being in coherency and because if a Bloodletter got up there, how is he going to get down without bending the rules? That is why you need to stay in coherency when you deep strike. Yes you can deep strike into terrain without a mishap, but putting models up down and all over the place is really not covered in the deep strike rules. The very best thing to do is to talk about your terrain with your opponent before you play so that everyone is on the same page. Same goes for your rule of thumb when it comes to landing; your opponent may not agree with the way you deep strike so being clear saves a ton of hassle later.
Well thats why you determine what it is at the beginning of the game, but as you are acutely aware that changes drastically when the game starts. For me I like to simplify things if 90% of the area terrain is gonna be difficult just make it all difficult and move on. Nitpicking at what parts of area terrain is difficult/impassable just drags the game out.
I agree with the above, talk with your opponent about the terrain, since ANY kind of terrain will give you trouble just se the following:
there is a wood, in this wood there are trees (duh) normally they offer no problem at all since troops move through it or just stand in between the trees. Then a tank comes along, a wood is not impassable, so it takes a dangerous terrain test and drives into the wood no matter that it can't (physically) pass between any of the trees... no problem as to the rules (only, how do you actually place the land raider? on top of your friend's lovingly crafted trees?)
Now a bloodletter unit arrives and scatters into the wood. The central miniature is no problem, but the first circle cannot be completed due to a tree, since trees are not impassable its not a mishap, but a dangerous terrain test. BUT you cant place the models... This is where the rules as written are crap and dont comply with the game situation. Just like the land raider trying to stop in the wood which is lovingly made with loads and loads of tree for effect... same goes for a fence... suddenly a fence should be impassable? If my opponent question deepstrikes in non impassabl terrain i generally just ask for the time needed to actually balance said model on the fence/tree and tell him, that from now on, fences and woods are clearly impassable terrain... same with a steep hill and a top heavy model... you dont ever see that be a problem (ruleswise)
You are all right. Usually there are no problems unless you get a lunkerhead for an opponent. I've had some people who are so intent on having you mishap that they nitpick about everything. I was sensitive about the deep strike because I mishapped a lot when I first started playing Daemons. The only thing was, I was doing it wrong! I was counting far too many things as impassable when really not much is. As far as trees are concerned, we have removable trees in much of our terrain. Since the model trees just represent a forest, we all agree if they are in the way we can just take them off to make it easier for movement and game play. Clear communication and good sportsmanship go a long way in resolving terrain issues.
Ok I see where the super critical opinions from opponents on deepstriking is coming from. This is from the Jan 2012 GW FAQ;
Q: If a unit arriving by Deep Strike cannot be placed fully on the table, must it roll on the Deep Strike Mishap table? (p95)
I think this is where the whole mess is coming in about mishaping due to not being able to physically place your model on the table. But page 95 only talks about normal deepstriking mishap situations not difficult terrain blocking the deepstrike.