Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Yes, I do have the Codex and the Rulebook, but I'm a little unclear on who can be given an icon in a unit.
The rules for icons say 'any chaos space marine model in the unit' may be equipped with the icon. Does this include the aspiring champion, or is he only able to purchase a 'personal icon' from the armoury. I'm confused, because the same wording is used for heavy weapons, but I know he can't have those.
Any marked(also undivided) CSM unit can have free icon. Additionally You can give to aspiring champ personal icon for a cost listed in the codex. And yes aspiring champ may have this free icon per squad(not personal).
Green Tide will consume You all!
Any marked unit automatically has an Icon that you can summon daemons off for no extra points - the Icon bearer is assumed to be the AC unless you model it differently.
The only reason to give a Personal Icon to a Champion is if it's in an unmarked unit - there's just no point otherwise.
Note that the special Icons/Banners/Standards in the Books of Chaos can only be selected by a model with access to the armoury - so no giving them to bog-standard marines.
All the old Specialist Games resources are currently being uploaded at the Tactical Command forums, and you can find them here: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/fanatic/.
Thanks, that puts my mind at ease.
Also worth remembering that it has to be modelled on, whoever holds it. Those special icons can only be carried by marked units of Chosen, it just says this in astupid place.
Flies, flies, eat up his eyes
The Burgermeister's lovely eyes,
Before the Burgermeister Dies.
Yes, this was mostly a modelling question. I just painted my first squad, minus aspiring champion (they're in the gallery if anyone fancies a peek) and was wondering if it would be okay to stick the an icon pole of some kind onto him instead of trying to stick it on an already painted model.
Good to know the answer, thanks folks.
Do you need to physically represent the free icons marked units have as well?
Yes, you usually do. However most god specific units of marines (zerkers etc.) come with a special aspiring champion model or bits that usually have something on them that can be construed as a "icon".
After all an icon could be as small as a amulet worn around the neck or it could be an entire dreadnought. An icon is simply a symbol of your chosen god(s)