Chaos Furious Charge - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    Chaos Furious Charge

    I have a question for anyone willing to answer when you give an aspiring champion furious charge, can you give the whole squad furious charge or just the aspiring champion? thanks


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Comes and goes. Zveroboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    York University, UK
    Age
    29
    Posts
    290
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    37 (x1)

    The whole squad including the Champion can be given Furious Charge at 3 points per model. So a ten-man Chaos Marine squad with Furious Charge would add 30 points (3 x 10) to it's points cost.

    For Independant Characters such as Lords and Sorcerors, Furious Charge is 15 points.

    This should be in your Codex anyway....
    Current Projects:
    - Watch this space.

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Connecticut
    Age
    34
    Posts
    53
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    If ye want to give yer Aspiring Champion furious charge, then ye must give the entire squad furious charge. Hope that answers the question.

  5. #4
    LO Zealot Monsieur Cartier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    La France!! (almost)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,080
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    46 (x3)

    ACs can't take veteran skills by themselves, they have to have it as part of a whole squad upgrade. And remember marked units (apart from MoCU) can only have one veteran skill. You must give the upgrade to the whole squad or not at all, you can't just give it to the Aspiring Champion by himself.
    --Monsieur

    "Argue for your limitations and, sure enough, they're yours"
    -Zen proverb
    Have you been touched?
    Pirate's Haven

    USE TEH REP BUTTON

  6. #5
    Senior Member Thyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Age
    40
    Posts
    549
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    111 (x3)

    To go a little further, if you give the Furious Charge vet skill to an independant character and if he join a squad that don't have it he can't use it.

  7. #6
    Son of LO Uzi-99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Age
    37
    Posts
    3,181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    86 (x7)

    Quote Originally Posted by Thyr
    To go a little further, if you give the Furious Charge vet skill to an independant character and if he join a squad that don't have it he can't use it.
    --- Wrong: Furious Charge is not lost by ICs joining units without it. Check Your Universal Special Rules, 4thEd page 74.

    In such a case, it would be just like joining an IC w/Frag Grenades with a unit that does not have Frag... Only the model with the upgrade/special rule benefits from it.
    "The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."

  8. #7
    Senior Member Thyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Age
    40
    Posts
    549
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    111 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by Uzi-99
    --- Wrong: Furious Charge is not lost by ICs joining units without it. Check Your Universal Special Rules, 4thEd page 74.

    In such a case, it would be just like joining an IC w/Frag Grenades with a unit that does not have Frag... Only the model with the upgrade/special rule benefits from it.
    Sorry but I'm not wrong on this one.

    The page 74 of the rule book only state what Furious Charge is. It says nothing about special characters having a veteran skill joining a unit that don't have it.

    Read your Chaos Codex, page 12, the Veteran Skills chapter, third paragraph:
    "if a character temporarily joins a unit and has a different veteran skills to the unit, the character may not utilise anys skills the unit does not have and vice versa."

    Edit: the frag grenade exemple does not apply to this case as the grenade are wargear an IC can use even if the squad don't have it. Furious Charge is a Veteran Skill wich is completly different.
    Last edited by Thyr; May 14th, 2005 at 21:07.

  9. #8
    LO Zealot Monsieur Cartier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    La France!! (almost)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,080
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    46 (x3)

    The bgb, being newer and having the generic rules, takes precidence. That means that only certain skills are lost by ICs and/or units that join/are joined by a unit/Ic without the skill. As furious charge is not noted as one of these temporarily 'lost' skills, an IC with the ability would still use it if the unit he was with did not. It isn't just veteran skills this applies to; if a DE lord with combat drugs takes 12" assault he doesn't have to slow down for the incubi- in either case, the character doesn't slow down for whoever he's standing next to and still recieves all the benefits of whatever abilities he/she may have.
    --Monsieur

    "Argue for your limitations and, sure enough, they're yours"
    -Zen proverb
    Have you been touched?
    Pirate's Haven

    USE TEH REP BUTTON

  10. #9
    Senior Member Thyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Age
    40
    Posts
    549
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    111 (x3)

    I see what you say, because it doesn't have an asterisk it's not automatically lost when an independant character join a unit without that skill.

    I will still play by the book and follow the Chaos Codex tough.

    This is one of those rule erratum that makes the game more difficult to play and anyway it doesn't have much importance for me.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts