Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have a question for anyone willing to answer when you give an aspiring champion furious charge, can you give the whole squad furious charge or just the aspiring champion? thanks
The whole squad including the Champion can be given Furious Charge at 3 points per model. So a ten-man Chaos Marine squad with Furious Charge would add 30 points (3 x 10) to it's points cost.
For Independant Characters such as Lords and Sorcerors, Furious Charge is 15 points.
This should be in your Codex anyway....
- Watch this space.
If ye want to give yer Aspiring Champion furious charge, then ye must give the entire squad furious charge. Hope that answers the question.
ACs can't take veteran skills by themselves, they have to have it as part of a whole squad upgrade. And remember marked units (apart from MoCU) can only have one veteran skill. You must give the upgrade to the whole squad or not at all, you can't just give it to the Aspiring Champion by himself.
To go a little further, if you give the Furious Charge vet skill to an independant character and if he join a squad that don't have it he can't use it.
--- Wrong: Furious Charge is not lost by ICs joining units without it. Check Your Universal Special Rules, 4thEd page 74.Originally Posted by Thyr
In such a case, it would be just like joining an IC w/Frag Grenades with a unit that does not have Frag... Only the model with the upgrade/special rule benefits from it.
"The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."
Sorry but I'm not wrong on this one.Originally Posted by Uzi-99
The page 74 of the rule book only state what Furious Charge is. It says nothing about special characters having a veteran skill joining a unit that don't have it.
Read your Chaos Codex, page 12, the Veteran Skills chapter, third paragraph:
"if a character temporarily joins a unit and has a different veteran skills to the unit, the character may not utilise anys skills the unit does not have and vice versa."
Edit: the frag grenade exemple does not apply to this case as the grenade are wargear an IC can use even if the squad don't have it. Furious Charge is a Veteran Skill wich is completly different.
Last edited by Thyr; May 14th, 2005 at 20:07.
The bgb, being newer and having the generic rules, takes precidence. That means that only certain skills are lost by ICs and/or units that join/are joined by a unit/Ic without the skill. As furious charge is not noted as one of these temporarily 'lost' skills, an IC with the ability would still use it if the unit he was with did not. It isn't just veteran skills this applies to; if a DE lord with combat drugs takes 12" assault he doesn't have to slow down for the incubi- in either case, the character doesn't slow down for whoever he's standing next to and still recieves all the benefits of whatever abilities he/she may have.
I see what you say, because it doesn't have an asterisk it's not automatically lost when an independant character join a unit without that skill.
I will still play by the book and follow the Chaos Codex tough.
This is one of those rule erratum that makes the game more difficult to play and anyway it doesn't have much importance for me.