Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This is going to sound strange, but is there any restriction on giving a HQ wMON a manreaper and a combibolter as wargear?
The reason I am asking is that I have just got my paws on army builder v2.x, and it iether greys out combi weapons when my HQ has manreaper or vice versa. :confused:
Is the manreaper two handed? If so, I don't think you'd be able equip any other weapon, but this is just a guess primarily based on weapons in Warhammer Fantasy.
"If you can wait til I get home, then I swear we can make this last."
Manreaper is two handed.
Grey knight squad 1
Manreaper and a combi-bolter are both two handed, and each model can only have one two-handed weapon.
thank you and good night
Yes, its two handed, but I dont see why that limits me from taking a combi bolter for shooting. Or am I missing something? :confused:
you can only have 2 weapons that either are 2 one-handed weapons or 1 two-handed and 1 one-handed weapon
Any bolter by definition is a two-handed weapon, basically because it will take two hands to control the giant recoil that springs off of the weapon. The manreaper is a giant scythe, and again, will take two hands to control the gun. By the rules, you can only have one two handed weapon at any one time. The only way you can avoid this is if your character is subject to the "true grit" rule, and thus can fire a bolter as if it were a one-handed weapon. But I believe that only affects a bolter, not a combi-bolter, and I dont think its an option available to Chaos Marines.
True Grit is available to models with the Mark of Nurgle but only with the basic bolter
Last edited by Dreachon; May 21st, 2005 at 19:16.
If you want to retain some shooting ability with your Lord then you can give him a bolt pistol, that way you will be able to shoot in the shooting phase, then charge and hack and slash with your manreaper, that or a plasma pistol (master crafted of course) is you want some more fire power.
The rules give you the ability to have a two-handed weapon and a 1 handed weapon but you can't use them at the same time and you won't have the bonus attack for having 2 close combat weapon because you won't be able to use your bolt pistol with your manreaper.
Having 2 two-handed weapons is considered illegal and it's logical, to have 2 two-handed weapons would be too cumbersome for a model going to war and fighting in hand to hand combat. A pistol can be kept in a holster, not a bolter.
Edit: and yes true grit is available with a Plague Marine with a bolter, that rule don't apply to combi-bolter. This as been discussed before and it's quite clear.
If you want a rule about equipment that confuse you just think about a CSM biker with a combi-bolter, a chainsword and a bolt pistol... what is the deal with the bolt pistol? why not take 2 close combat weapons? If he shoot the bolt pistol he won't be able to shoot with the bike combi-bolter... but still, it's there
Last edited by Thyr; May 21st, 2005 at 19:36.
Thanks for all the input ppl, cleared things up for me.
Looks like someone has to go read the rule book again...