Welcome to Librarium Online!
I was just wondering, in the chosen section, it says that chosen carry a close combat weapon and either a boltgun or bolt pistol. Does this mean that chosen could carry other 2 handed weapons along with a close combat weapon?
Sure since the rules state that they replace their "bolter" only but it doesn't make any difference in the game. You don't get the extra attack in close combat when using a 2-handed weapon and a 1-handed weapon together. It is more for fluff, they must really like their chainswords!
so if i use the bolter and cc weapon together they still have only 1 attack?
you only hold a CC weapon and bolter if you have true grit... right??
It does not matter how the model "holds" a weapon. A bolter is a 2 handed weapon. You can only get an extra attack if your model has true grit and a ccw. If your model has a bolter and a ccw (I don't care if he's holding it or it's on his belt or attached to a 3rd arm) he does NOT get the extra attack if he does not have true grit. So yes he only gets 1 attack, 2 on the charge. It lets you carry a bolter and a ccw purely for modeling purposes.
thanks for clearing that up
2nd clarification on Chosen. No matter how many chosen you take and no matter how many squads you divvy them up to do they only take up 1 slot in force organization? I.E. I can have a retinue for each my Lord and LT and a unit another unit of chosen as long as I stay within the points limit restriction? That's the way I have read it... is this correct?
I have honestly never used chosen and have only begun to consider them, this is why I ask.
40K-Beakies(9-14-4),Guard(4-7-2),Orks(34-12-11). FANTASY-Dwarves(15-6-7),Beasts (14-14-1), Skaven (17-17-10) DoC (6-1-2). CYGNAR (28-15-1)
I believe this is correct. You may want a second opinion, though . . .Originally Posted by MouseC112
All Chosen, their gear and transports are costed to one Elites slot.
The maximum number may be divided up to three ways.Well, they're pretty expensive. FWIW, I generally don't take Chosen in lists under 1500pts.I have honestly never used chosen and have only begun to consider them
Umm... no. Each Chosen squad takes up an elites choice, even retinues. Unless this has been changed in a FAQ, it never says that chosen taken as a retinue do NOT still take up an elites slot.
Everyone's entitled to their own opinion, even if it's wrong.
SilentStorm, please read the entree of the chosen in the codex, it mentinos specifly that despite how many you choose and how many sqauds you make of them, they only occupie a single elite slot of the FoC