Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm new to shooty metal-clad human-things (being used to claws and teeth and genetic goodness) so I have a couple newbie questions:
Firstly, in the Chaos codex under Chaos Space Marines it says they're equipped with "a close combat weapon and either a bolt pistol or a bolter." This makes it sound like you can have a CCW *and* a bolter! Is this true? And is it true for all CSM or just ones with the Mark of Nurgle (True Grit)? If I put a CCW + Bolter on a marine who doesn't have True Grit, how do I model it? Strap a chainsword across his back and claim he's gonna pull it out when he gets into close combat? I still get the +1 attack for having a CCW right?
Secondly, in the wargear section (I think? It's in the box that defines limits on Daemonic Gifts and wargear and stuff) it says "a model may be equipped with up to two weapons, only one of which may be two-handed." I always thought you could either have two one-handed weapons or one two-handed weapon... is this saying you can have a two-handed weapon *and* a one-handed weapon? Like, can I have an AC with a Great Sword in one hand and a power sword in the other? How about with say a Plasma Gun and a power sword?
And while I'm at it... how do you model an AC who has a bolt pistol, a power weapon *and* Daemonic Mutation? I took the "biting mouth" mutated arm, cut the shoulder off and stuck it in the middle of his chest so that he has three arms. Think that'll fly?
PS: An AC with Daemonic Resilience, Daemonic Strength, and Daemonic Mutation is pretty gross...!
Welcome to chaos, Ditchdigger, on to the questions:
1) It indeed says a close combat weapon and either a bolter or a boltpistol. The model does not necessarily have to have a cc weapon on them, they may use their fists or guns as clubs. You don't have to model a cc weapon on bolter armed marines, but you could give them combat knives etc, although it is assumed because no weapon is shown, they are bolter troops. A model with a bolter has a standard amount of attacks, a model with a boltpistol has 2 cc weapons and benifets from the +1 attack bonus.
2) For the one 2 handed weapon and a single 1 handed weapon: You can't have 2 differant cc weapons with differant abilities (such as a lightning claw and power weapon), you MAY however use a two handed gun (aka. bolter/combi-bolter) and a single handed weapon (power weapon)
3) For a model with mutation, extra arms, a mutated head, perhaps collapsed armour or resculpting/substituting parts.
Hope that helps, and as for the PS, yes that is a good combo but rather expensive, the points could be spent elsewhere. Cheers,
3) Hey.. if you still have any nid bits. Get a warrior spikey tongue and have it coming out of his mouth/helmet. That's good enough. What you've done is fine too, but make it look like the armour is broken to accomodate it, or that the arm is growing, obliterator style, from the armour with a bit of green stuff.. It's the guys flesh not the armour which is mutated.
Just a couple of comments.
1) Having a close combat weapon does not give you an extra attack. You CAN have a close combat weapon and a bolter, however as a single close combat weapon has no special rules this is no different to not having one. 2 close combat weapons (A pistol counts as a CCW for these purposes) gives you +1 attack. Having a bolter and a power weapon could be useful however as power weapons, obviously, do have a special power.
2) Is the rule about 2 different close combat weapons a special Chaos thing? Cause other armies can, for example a marine commander could be armed with a power fist and a power sword, you have to choose which to use and cannot split attacks between them, but you can have both. The other simply gives you +1 A as an extra CCW when it is not in use.
Yes, you are right Karantalsis. You have to elect at the start of combat which weapon you wish to use. If you have a power fist and power weapon, choose before combat begins which to use.Originally Posted by karantalsis
Indeed you would have to pick which to use, being able to carry both but you do not gain an attack when using, or from, the powerfist, because you cannot gain an extra attack from one unless you have a pair
Woah, a blast from the past! This is about the old codex buddy, four years ago, haha!
So it is...i should probably read the dates on these things, i tend to forget to do that a lot. I just get so preoccupied in being technical that the date doesnt seem important
*Casts Smite Undead*
Rork: In the dark future of the 41st millennium there is only friendship.
Fenrir: and magic.
Kaiser-: My Little Chaos Marine, Friendship is Heresy?