Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If a specific legion is chosen as an Ally, do the Cult troops still count as Elites.
If said Legion is Thousand sons, can I then take Chosen of Ahriman as my second HQ?
Now, the rules for their power "The Key" says that the Chosen may remove/redeploy any Rubric Marines within 6 inches, as well as the Chosen. Does this include the unit the Chosen is attached to? If so, does then mean that I can teleport a 30-man Mutant team across the battlefield in no time flat?
Any unit chosen from the Chaos codex that has a Mark of Chaos counts as elites, regardless of you you say your force is allied with. Even the MoCU. You could still have an arch-heretic with the MoT and the TS marines would count as elites.
If the Chosen of Ahriman can be attatched to a unit of mutants, then I suppose you could teleport them. I haven't seen the rules for taking them but if they can be attatched to any unit then I don't see why not. There's probably some technicallity that will spark arguement as to whether you can or not. From what you've said and the few details I've heard elsewhere on the boards it would seem to imply that the chosen are an independant unit... from what I've heard they are a unit in their own right, not independant characters. There's no problem with taking them however, so long as they're an official unit type; you're allowed 0-1 HQ choice in an LatD army so long as it isn't used as a compulsory choice.
Yes, because the units are chosen as allies, not any legion.Originally Posted by MagicJugglerI see no reason why not. It can be taken as a non-compulsary HQ, and you have no choice but to have it as such in LatD.If said Legion is Thousand sons, can I then take Chosen of Ahriman as my second HQ?Mutants do not and cannot have the Rubric sign. The only two units in the entire game that do are Thousand Sons and Rubric Terminators. The Key only affects units with the Rubric sign and so Mutants cannot take advantage of it. If you want to think of it more simply, the only squads that can use The Key are those given an extra wound by the Mark of Tzeentch.Now, the rules for their power "The Key" says that the Chosen may remove/redeploy any Rubric Marines within 6 inches, as well as the Chosen. Does this include the unit the Chosen is attached to? If so, does then mean that I can teleport a 30-man Mutant team across the battlefield in no time flat?
Beasts of Chaos (4000)
Chaos Marines (3000)
But the rubric rules say within 6 inches of the Chosen. What if the Chosen is attached to a Mutant Squad?
It says in the rules quite clearly that any one unit with the Rubric sign, and the chosen and any followers, may be teleported. The squad of mutants do not have the rubric sign, so cannot be teleported. So the chosen will automatically leave the squad to be teleported. Besides, i don't believe you can take them in a LatD army at all. I think they can only be taken in a CSM army.
The only difference between tattooed people and non-tattooed people is that tattooed people are awesome and can kick your ass.
"War does not determine who is right - only who is left."
MagicJuggler, you've just contradicted yourself there. You say about the key working on rubric marines, then ask about mutants. Mutants aren't rubric marines! A squad of mutants aren't going to enjoy a hop through the empyrean- sorcerers are ub3r enough to be immune and rubric marines don't have any bodies to speak of that could be affected. Someone will probably end up being pedantic and saying something like 'what about the aspiring champion?' If you are that person, you deserve a slap.
<EDIT>Lordofchange, what's all this you nipping in and posting in front of me? Gah. Cheeky sod.</EDIT>
The rubric marines mentioned because within 6 inches. But the reason I ask is whether or not the Mutants are considered "followers" for purposes of being teleportable...but nevermind that; I guess I'll stick to my plan of Infiltrating my entire army...