Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can i master craft a plasma pistol for my chaos lord as in the imperial gurad codex it mentions you cant but in all others it doesnt mention it.
If you can master craft it then this cancels out the "gets hot" rule as you can re roll the 1.
This seems a bit silly if you ask me.
All replys will be much appreciated.
*Painting In Progress*
*Planning Stages*Thousand Sons of Chaos, Melekh's Host - 2000 Pts
Ogre Kingdoms, Tribe Of The Blooded Gut - 3500 Pts
Khorne Daemonic Legion, The Hordes Of Blood - 2000 Pts
Nurgle Possesed Ravenwing Army, The Rottenwing - 2000 Pts
1. Um, yes you can.
2. It doesn't cancel out the gets hot rule, just makes it rarer that it is triggered.
3. Why does that seem silly, it seems eminently reasonable to me that a better made pistol is less likely to overheat.
4. I am fairly sure that IG can mastercraft them too, but don't hold me to that my codex is elsewhere.
Like Corianis already said, you can no problem with that.
As for dealing with the Get's hot rule, the first time you toll a 1 to hit you may re-roll that one, if you roll a second 1 to hit then the weapon simply overheats as normal.
Hi all, I thought i could ask my question here rather than post a new thread in the Rules forum. When a plasma wepon 'Gets Hot', and you pass your save, is the wepon destroyed or is it still useable to the orginal holder of the wepon.
Thanks for your help guys
The guilty laugh while the innocent suffer.............WELL WHO'S LAUGHING NOW!!!
It stays useable. They cool off as quickly as they heat up, it seems.
It isn't the gun itself which is getting unbearably hot, but a loss of containment which causes the gun to vent large amounts of very, very hot gas. The upside it the gas doesn't take long at all to disperse.
Actually .. this was covered quite a while ago, so don't flame me or anything for not remembering where I saw it.
Say you shot your Master Crafted Plasma Pistol.
You roll a one. The pistol still Gets Hot.
You re-roll the one and you hit.
The way I remember this being covered, is that the hit still counts, but so does the Gets Hot! rule. So, you get an auto-wound with saves allowed, and you also shoot somebody with your pistol.
This is just what I remember, and I believe it's correct, unless someone can point me in the direction of an FAQ?
Interesting take on it. I did a quick look through the codex, BBB, UK site, US site, and sure enough, nowhere does it say that by rerolling the "1", do you avert the Gets Hot rule. Very interesting.Originally Posted by Lost Nemesis
My take on the whole subject? The point of the reroll was to ignore the original roll. Effectively, you try to pretend the first roll never happened.
However, the general rule for re-rolls says that the first result is completely ignored. It never happened, so no armour save needed.
EDIT: What you may be thinking of is the situation which occurs when a plasma weapon is shot twice by a model with BS 5+, and one of the rolls is a 2. In this case there is both a hit (because the model needs to roll a 2+) and an overheat (2 shots means a 1 or a 2 overheats). But that has nothing to do with rerolls, from Master Crafting ro from Twin-Linking.
Last edited by Corianis; August 21st, 2005 at 04:19.
An angel dies everytime someone says you still overheat on a mastercrafted plasma weapon, when you reroll
I seriously do not understand how people only apply the Overheat rule to twinlinked weapons and nothing else.. Its not an interesting take, it just doesnt make sense
When you reroll the first roll is completely discarded with all effects negated
If that were the case then you would still *miss* on a reroll because the previous result of a miss isnt ignored.. Is there a special clause that allows Overheating plasma to completely circumvent logic? I know this is a bit harsh but this seriously gets asked every single week and someone always agrees that you still overheat
I wouldnt mind so much if this kind of topic involved *other* weapons, but it's only overheating plasma every single time