Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
something came up the other day and i was wondering if a lord is able to join a squad of demons?
for example can a lord off by himself summon a squad of demons and immediately form a squad with them?
Nothing can join any squad of Daemons.
I don't think even greater daemons can join lesser daemon squads.
Joker is quite right. The rule is printed under the Daemonic Instability paragraph on page 12 of the Codex. It prevents them being joined by Independent Characters (which Greater Daemons are) and using other models' Leadership.
Greater Deamons are monstrous creatures anyway, so its hardly an issue.
Having said that, a unit of Daemons goes excellently with a Greater Daemon. It gives your opponent something else to assign their attacks to, hopefully protecting your GD from being outnumbered. The added advantage is that if you summon the Daemons off it, you can virtually guarantee them being in position to charge the same target (easier with D. Beasts than Packs). I noticed this when players had a LoC or BT charge alongside the remainder of the unit they came from, wasting their speed and possibly making you wait longer to deploy the GD.