Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
recently I got a new squad, each of the CSM is armed with a bolter and a bolt-pistol.
That is not ok, because the rules say, each CSM gets a CC-Wapon and could chose a bolter or a bolt-pistol.
Now I want to make out of these CSM a nice CC-squad, would it be suffiend to replace just the bolter with a bolt-pistol, then they all would have two bolt-pistols. This doesn't fit the rules for 100% but from the effect it would be as if having bolter and cc-wapon, for firing only a bolter and for cc a extra attack out of the secound bolt-pistol...I play Alpha, and I don't like these huge chaiswords and chainaxes.
( Appart from this they will get a cham with powerfist and some special wapons)
Any comment would be appreciated.
why dont u use come weapons of chaos fantacy??
<html><center><iframe src="http://gamercard.xbox.com/digeztive.card" scrolling="no"
frameBorder="0" height="140" width="204"></iframe></center></html>
There's nothing wrong with using 2 bolt pistols.
The bolt pistol 'is' a close combat weapon. So using 2 of them would be the same as using a bp and: brass knuckles/knife/mace/sword/chainsword/etc.
But you can still only fire one of the pistols in the shooting phase.
Also, it's ok to have a bolter in one hand and a bolt pitol in the other hand of your marines. As long as the model has the veteran skill 'true grit' which is conveyed to them by giving them the mark of Nurgle (is there another way also, I forget?). However; if the model has 'true grit' it can only shoot with the bolter in the shooting phase and will not get an extra attack for charging into combat, although it does get the extra attack as if it had 2 close combat weapons. (can a 'true grit' model fire it's bolter and then assault under the new 4th edition rules?)
Last edited by Joker; August 24th, 2005 at 13:32.
Thanks Joker and thanks xechor,
that sounds quite well and get's me back on the track.
i prefer the look of a marine with 2 automaticwapons over one with a something crude and old like a sword - except something special like a demonwapon :-)
I would call you on that should you play me. As long as you never fired it, and treated it exactly like a CCW, then I'd have no problems - but the moment you tried firing the pistol, you'd be cheating.Originally Posted by Joker
There's a reason to why - A pistol can be fired before charging into combat. A bolter cannot. This effectively nets you a free shot at your target than what you normally would have had.
To clarify - I don't think anyone will have a problem with you modeling a Pistol and a Bolter on the same model. I'd just be sure to point out at the beginning of the game that the pistols are treated like CCWs, and that they'll never be fired as a pistol.I haven't read anywhere that they can. It's still a Rapid Fire weapon, so firing before charging is disallowed. This basically makes True Grit a defensive ability, and IMO, actually hinders offensive units.Originally Posted by Joker
Originally Posted by Caluin
Agreed! The bolter must be declared the 'true grit' models weapon, and I would call anyone on it that tried to say otherwise as well. The army list should have it expressly written that your model has the bolter and ccw if it's using the 'true grit' veteran skill.Originally Posted by Caluin
That was my impression as well, and represents the only actual reason why I would even field a model with 'true grit'. (I use an Undivided army and have some 'true grit' Nurgle elites). Having the ability of 2 close combat attacks if you charge the enemy without firing your bolters, or to brace yourself for an assault after rapid firing (or any firing of the bolter for that matter) is a great defensive measure.