Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hello friends!(death to the false emperor)
So I'll make this quick so we can sooner hear what your thoughts are on it.
I've got a chaos lord and for all intents and purposes lets say these are the only two pieces of gear:
Daemon Flight 20/10 pts
Daemon Steed 25/15 pts
The hounds aside, lets discuss the two others.
The chaos lord cannot have more than 50pts of demonic such and such, or else he is a daemon prince and should be modeled accordingly. In this case he only has 45pts daemonic, so all is still good right?
Next, if you look at the Daemonic Steed it reads that the steed options confers the daemonic resilience abilit upon the rider...is that included in the points steed points? or do you add the resilence's 10 points? I would imagine it does not include the points and would need to add another 10.
Now, lets say that it doesnt, hypothetically, plus I am curious how this next part would work.
So the steed option describes the steed taking form as a mighty mutated warhorse or hunting beast, so i've got him on a horse right? Now if the lord has deamonic flight, it says this makes the model act as if it has a jump pack, but fluff wise could be "daemonic wings". So since the steed is part of the lord and i give them demonic flight, could i put wings on the horse then be able to use the entire unit (lord mounted on steed) as if it had a jumpack ?
These are my questions. What does everyone think?
Okay, good start.Originally Posted by Guardsman24601Originally Posted by Guardsman24601
Sure. I already see one problem, but let's see what you have to say first.Sure. He's still all good looking. Just remember - although he may become a Daemon Prince after 50 points, it doesn't mean he needs to look that much different. Just needs to look a bit more imposing than your standard marine/Lord/Leiu/what have you.Originally Posted by Guardsman24601It is already included in the cost of the Steed. You don't need to pay for it again.Originally Posted by Guardsman24601So far, yes. Flight can be a jump pack, wings, telekinesis, what have you - so long as it was accuratly modeled to show that he is or can fly.Originally Posted by Guardsman24601Well, your problem is that Flight and Daemonic Steed are not stackable. A model can only ever have one movement increase gift, which include Bikes, Flight, and Speed, no matter how they are attained. Since the Daemonic Steed confers Daemonic Speed upon its owner, it can't also have flight.Originally Posted by Guardsman24601
Modeling wise, I see no issues with it. Just know that since you Daemonic Steed, Flight is no longer an option, and you can only use the rules for Cavalry, not Jump Packs.
Yes I pretty much agree with Caluin, you could have either a steed or daemonic flight, however if for fluff puposes you decide to have some form of flying steed which counts as giving daemonic flight that would also be fine. I can't really see any bonus coming out of having a steed and flight, just seems like a waste of points.
Psychic-Construct of the Codex necromancers design team
Books of the Imperium;
29. Thou shalt not use they bolter to kill bees.
74. Thy shalt not tip the Terminators over during battle.
it says on p 16 of the chaos codex at the top under movement modes that you can't.
On this point though the new rule book is supposed to superceed the codex's and this says nothing about combining certain things (now remembering that according to GW the new rule book ignores the old codex rules) ie; infiltrate and demonic speed for example. Having recently fought the heat 1 GT at lenton and gone up against a chaos lord with just this combo, i was rather niffed to say the least, it was eventually decided (after the tournament though) that the codex chaos special rules for demonic gifts / vetern ability's will still apply and in the case of the new rule book the codex superceeds the rulebook on these selections only, otherwise it would have meant that you could have had an infiltrating Khorne lord with a 30'' charge range a minimum of 18'' from your army. At least until the new chaos codex came out, which won't be for a while yet.
WARMASTER of the SCHOLA PROGENIUM Alnwick Chapter (soon to be the world)
I had a hard time trying to figure out what you were saying. Are you saying that at the last tournament you were at, someone had a 30" charging Khorne Lord? In that case, I think you got screwed, and the judge should be fired. The long standing rule is that in the case of rules clashes, the newest printing always takes precendence. The BBB doesn't ignore all the rules in the Codex, it only supercedes the Codex when two rules contradict. For instance, Slow and Purposeful.
In your case, the Codex specifically says you can't stack Movement modificiations. The BBB makes no mention of it anywhere, so there is no contradiction. The Codex ruling still stands, as there isn't anything superceding the Codex. So in this case, you can indeed have Infiltrate and Daemonic Speed stacked together. Infiltrate is NOT a movement modification.
I hope I answered you right - I'm not sure whether you were disagreeing with me, or reinforcing my statements.