monsterous creatures - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Member rawhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    lancashire
    Posts
    98
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    monsterous creatures

    in the bbb page 55 it says mc's with special abilitys or strength boosts lose mc bonus d6 armour penetration does this apply to deamonic talons on a deamon prince?

    its not a strength bonus as such but does have a further effect.

    if it still gets the bonus do you get to reroll the 6 on ether dice?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Now with STFU flames! Caluin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Age
    36
    Posts
    5,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    708 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by rawhead
    in the bbb page 55 it says mc's with special abilitys or strength boosts lose mc bonus d6 armour penetration does this apply to deamonic talons on a deamon prince?

    its not a strength bonus as such but does have a further effect.

    if it still gets the bonus do you get to reroll the 6 on ether dice?
    That's correct. By electing to use Talons, you lose the inherent 2d6 penetration. Note that even though you have talons, you can elect to not use them to fight. A character always has the option of making a generic attack with no special weapons (which the Talons would count as).

    Related to this question is the Dark Blade - by electing to take +2 strength, you lose the 2d6 penetration against vehicles.


  4. #3
    Member rawhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    lancashire
    Posts
    98
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    never thought of not useing them but it could be construed as an almighty hedbutt or trample good idea thanks

  5. #4
    Pure Venom. Lordofchange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,306
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    88 (x3)

    That dark blade query raises a few questions - so does that mean that a carnifex with toxin sacs no longer becomes a monstrous creature? Or would special abilities encompass dreadaxe ignoring invulnerables, or daemonic venom, or even furious charge with it's strength bonus. Hmmm...any insights?
    The only difference between tattooed people and non-tattooed people is that tattooed people are awesome and can kick your ass.
    "War does not determine who is right - only who is left."

    RAMROD ONE

  6. #5
    Now with STFU flames! Caluin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Age
    36
    Posts
    5,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    708 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Lordofchange
    That dark blade query raises a few questions - so does that mean that a carnifex with toxin sacs no longer becomes a monstrous creature? Or would special abilities encompass dreadaxe ignoring invulnerables, or daemonic venom, or even furious charge with it's strength bonus. Hmmm...any insights?
    Toxin Sacs aren't a weapon - they just add to the strength. So the 2D6 is unaffected. Same goes for Furious Charge.

    The Dreadaxe and the Daemonic Venom would indeed prevent a MC from using the 2D6 vs. Vehicles rule, as they're special attack forms.

    Also, I'd like to ammend my first answer - it was pointed out to me that if you have a special effect to your attack (such as Talons, DreadAxe, a PowerFist, etc), then you never roll 2D6 for penetration. By the strict letter of the rule book, just by possessing a special attack mode, you lose that ability. We just have a house rule, and I always assumed it was official. My apologies.


  7. #6
    Member Chosen_Of_Ahriman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Euxton
    Age
    27
    Posts
    193
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    So if you use a dreadaxe and ignore invunerable saves do you lose the power to ignore armour saves as that is a MC special rule??
    *Painting In Progress*
    *Planning Stages*
    Thousand Sons of Chaos, Melekh's Host - 2000 Pts
    Ogre Kingdoms, Tribe Of The Blooded Gut - 3500 Pts
    Khorne Daemonic Legion, The Hordes Of Blood - 2000 Pts
    Nurgle Possesed Ravenwing Army, The Rottenwing - 2000 Pts

  8. #7
    Senior Member HeraldOfChaos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    254
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -15 (x0)

    NO dude, just when attacking Tanks and vehicles.

  9. #8
    Member Chosen_Of_Ahriman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Euxton
    Age
    27
    Posts
    193
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    AHHHHHHHHHHHH
    Thanks for that.
    I was a bit :confused:
    *Painting In Progress*
    *Planning Stages*
    Thousand Sons of Chaos, Melekh's Host - 2000 Pts
    Ogre Kingdoms, Tribe Of The Blooded Gut - 3500 Pts
    Khorne Daemonic Legion, The Hordes Of Blood - 2000 Pts
    Nurgle Possesed Ravenwing Army, The Rottenwing - 2000 Pts

  10. #9
    Senior Member Joker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    JC, TN, USA
    Age
    50
    Posts
    628
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    137 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by Caluin
    Also, I'd like to ammend my first answer - it was pointed out to me that if you have a special effect to your attack (such as Talons, DreadAxe, a PowerFist, etc), then you never roll 2D6 for penetration.
    You mean you can't even chose between which attack form to use?

    I can't sheath the Darkblade long enough to attack a tank as a monstrous creature?

    Could you tell me which page number to read that from?

  11. #10
    Now with STFU flames! Caluin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Age
    36
    Posts
    5,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    708 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Joker
    You mean you can't even chose between which attack form to use?

    I can't sheath the Darkblade long enough to attack a tank as a monstrous creature?

    Could you tell me which page number to read that from?
    Sucks, don't it? It's page 55 of the BBB, second paragraph under "Assualt Phase".

    Quote Originally Posted by Page 55 of the BBB
    Some Monstrous Creatures have weapons that augment their Strength... or work unusually... Monstrous Creatures without such a special rule roll an additional D6 for armour penetration...
    I left out the examples, but that's what the book says. By the strictest wording of the book, just by having that weapon, you cannot ever roll 2D6 for penetration.

    Like I said earlier, we adopted a house rule that says your MC can choose to attack with no special mods. Seemed like a simple change.


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts