Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I myself have not been able to get my hands on a 3rd printing of the chaos codex, but a discussion has come up around the wording of the doom siren. A EC player I know claims that the doom siren lets you go first in any circumstance, and as far as I can tell it seems to be worded that way. I've only read the 3rd printing once after I charged a 6 man EC squad with a man reaper armed Lt with furious charge and got 11 str 6 atts on the charge at init 6 but had my guy fisted and over killed before I got to go. That came as a surprise as my 2nd printing had nothing like that in it, but the wording in the 3rd printing seemed to suport his view.
If I remember propperly it states something like "in close combat a model with a doom siren goes first regardless of weapon or cover".
The whole regardless of weapon seems well... silly. I know a PF always makes you go at init 1, but the doom siren seems to specificaly overide that. For so for a few points, being a flamer which lets you always go first without taking up any hands seems, well broken.
Is there something in the core rule book which I can't see which makes this not a valid tactic?
That loophole has been closed with the new rulebook.
The doom siren rules say:
"In close combat a model with a doom siren will always strike in initiative sequence even if attacking enemy in cover as the waves of sonic energy confuse and repel them"
The problem was that the precise choice of words there didn't restrict the doom siren to striking in ini order when assaulting a target in cover, but also allowed to strike in initiative order if one normally wouldn't do so for other reasons.
In 4th edition this problem has been solved:
Now the power fist rules say that models with a fist always strike at inititative 1 and that you "ignore any bonuses for special rules, cover, grenades or wargear" - 4th e dition rulebook page 46.
Strictly speaking that is the 2nd printing codex, as the third printing staits that "the model goes first regardles of weapon and cover". I would have beaten an I5 PF on the EC champ with my Lt, but not a goes first PF. However the rules from the core book still disalow the fast PF.Originally Posted by ArchonAstaroth
Then I guess my only other comment is that I still don't like the doom siren as it allows any weapon other then a PF to go first. Paying out for furrious charge and maybe getting the charge to get up to I6 on a lord or Lt really seems like a lot of effort compaired to just taking a doom siren and beating out a Brood lord or Archion. Oh well. Thanks for the help.
Just wondering...are you using a translated version of the codex?Strictly speaking that is the 2nd printing codex, as the third printing staits that "the model goes first regardles of weapon and cover". I would have beaten an I5 PF on the EC champ with my Lt, but not a goes first PF. However the rules from the core book still disalow the fast PF.
I don't know which codex you have, xrix1, but a doom siren in the most recent (3rd, I believe) edition definately reverts things to initiative order rather than allowing always striking first.
Though, as an EC player, I can't say I would object to the idea of always striking first.
Huh. I have the 2nd printing myself, in english (Canada), and my codex says act in init order. The guy I was playing had the 3rd printing. I can assure you it said 3rd printing at the front, and I can assure you that is said acts first. However I only saw it the once, so maybe I was mistaken somehow.
Now that I think about it some more, maybe I saw "3rd edition" rather then "3rd printing". Oh well, I guess it's my fault for not looking close enough. Thanks for the replies.
Last edited by xrix1; September 13th, 2005 at 21:42.