Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
First, is demonic resilience ignored by double base strength attacks. I understand that the demonic stature increase wouldn't be ignored. So a demon prince with both would have a toughness of 6 but against a dreadnought's strength 10 CC attack would it be an instant kill because the base toughness would drop to 5?
Second, in the Chaos book it specifically says that Daemonic Rune only prevents instant death from double toughness strength attacks. But a friend said that GW was streamlining instant death situations so that Rune would also protect against Force Weapons. I can't find anything about this in any FAQ. Is he crazy? Can I tell him so?
Third and lastly, does the Dread Axe count towards the demonic gift maxium of a 100? In the FAQ it clears up that veteran skills and marks of chaos don't go against the wargear maximum, which to me means a Lord could have 150 points plus a vetern skill and mark, with up to 100 of the 150 being deamonic gifts.
First, yes, a daemon prince with stature and resillience is still insta-killed by strength 10 attacks.
Secondly, I really don't know the answer to this (don't really know the exact language on force weapons or runes off the top of my head). But I do know that even if GW is planning on doing something, you can't use the rules they are planning on implementing until they actually do implement them.
Dread Axe counts towards the daemonic gifts limit as it is a daemon weapon. The Chaos FAQ on the GW Website gives a nice list of everything that counts, and everything that doesn't count and daemon weapons are counted.
Thank you Grimmtu
But, in the Chaos FAQ they just say that Daemon weapons are counted towards the wargear limit, not the daemon gift limit. Does it clarify anywhere whether a daemon weapon is a daemonic gift or not?
A daemon prince is instant-killed by str 10, but not str 8 or 9 as Daemonic Stature raises base toughness to 5, and does not modify it to 5. But Daemonic Resilience modifies it up.
Force Weapons can still work as they are not under the rules of instant-kill. Instant-kill deals only with doubling toughness, and falls outside the rules of force weapons.
Daemonic Weapons count towards the Daemonic limit. It says clearly on page 14 just above the Daemonic Weapon list that "The cost of a daemon weapon counts towards the total spent on DAEMONIC gifts."
Hope that helps.
Beasts of Chaos (4000)
Chaos Marines (3000)
Daemonic Gifts are a type of wargear. As such, Daemonic Weapons certainly are wargear, but they are also Daemonic Gifts and therefore count towards your 100 point maximum in Gifts.Originally Posted by nedroj
Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.
--Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"
doh, how could I have missed that (Daemon weapon pg 14 is daemon gift). Thanks
It's ok. I missed it too.