Powerfist Tactic - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Festo Diata TwoHats's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    85 (x2)

    Powerfist Tactic

    I've been generating this tactic, based largely on my proxy use of Captain Cortez and the Crimson Fists, and I was wondering it's validity, as I'm unclear on the interpretation of the rules:

    1. I give my Chaos Lord a Powerfist
    2. Put him in a squad
    3. Charge with that squad
    4. Put the Lord behind a few guys, so he counts as engaged, but can't be attacked due to his IC status and not being in base contact

    Does this work? Can I get away with using those Powerfist attacks, while not being attacked back? Or do I have to be included in a Retinue?

    2H - LEGIO HYDRA

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO Zealot Addoran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Liverpool, England
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,919
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    107 (x5)

    Problem is, Independant Characters can only attack if they are in base to base. So you couldn't be attacked....but you couldn't attack either.

  4. #3
    Festo Diata TwoHats's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    85 (x2)

    Even in a Retinue?
    2H - LEGIO HYDRA

  5. #4
    LO Zealot Addoran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Liverpool, England
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,919
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    107 (x5)

    Even in a retinue.

  6. #5
    Now with STFU flames! Caluin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Age
    36
    Posts
    5,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    708 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by TwoHats
    Even in a Retinue?
    Remember that a retinue counts exactly like a normal squad with the sole exception that the IC can't leave his retinue. There is no other functional difference between the two.


  7. #6
    LO Zealot Grey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waterloo, Ont.
    Age
    44
    Posts
    1,020
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    77 (x3)

    I think you can use the Lash of Torment this way, for what that's worh.
    Last edited by Grey; January 9th, 2006 at 06:12.
    "No one has a monopoly on wisdom."-S.W.G.

    Fluff Master Clan initiate.

    "I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones."-A.E.

    "Before you embark on a journey of revenge, dig two graves."-C.

    New 40K missions here.

  8. #7
    Senior Member Daedelus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Kamloops, BC
    Age
    33
    Posts
    301
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    39 (x1)

    Putting a Fist on a lord, is a bad way to go, as your wasting that valuable I5 that will rock the cassba against just about anything other then the eldar.

    Save your fists for squad leaders, and mabey the odd terminator, where the iniitiative drop is going to be much less of an issue.

  9. #8
    Festo Diata TwoHats's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    85 (x2)

    Awesome, issue resolved. Thanks guys!

    I was just feeling very cliche about the Dark Blade. I wanted to be really unique...
    2H - LEGIO HYDRA

  10. #9
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    My opinion would be to give your lord both a power fist and a power weapon. It's a bit pricey, but that way you can carve up units as you please. And if for any reason you fight something with a higher I, you've got Mr Fist to do the business with.

    It also means you can scratch tanks without resorting to one hit wonder meltabombs.


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts