Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Daemon princehood starts at 51pts spent on Daemonic gifts and Gifts from the gods.
Any aspiring champion has this wargearlimt: Gifts max 50 pts and Total max 75 pts, right?
This goes for a chosen aspiring champion as well as a possessed aspiring champion.
The possessed champion already has a couple of gifts before accessing the armoury, so the sum may exceed the 51 points. Will this make it possible to claim that title/ suffer from whatever weapon only makes it worst against princes (if any such weapon/ power exists)eventhough he is but a "squad-upgrade"?
I guess you missed the subtelties of the lieutenant fluff entry, then.
Anyway, The 50pts is only a guideline: daemon princing is only a modelling aspect. Go for it.
It makes no difference to the game whether it is a daemon prince or not, and so I doubt, as long as you keep WYSIWYG, that any opponent will have a problem in you using a daemon prince as an aspiring champion.
As I said, the 50 pt limit is just a guideline to stop people going crazy and making a thoroughly un-daemonic lord then making him a prince. As long as you partially daemonise the champion that you want to have as a prince, i'm sure it will be fine.
Fluffwise, not such a great idea, but still possible. Generally only the most exalted could ascend to daemonhood (there are fluff entries about how after several hundred years of service, a renegade chapter was finally rewarded with their lord becoming a prince, and how they are going to own...), but you could always make fluff excuses. Use your imagination.
*In My Mind*
(><)This is Bunny. Copy Bunny into your signature to help him on his way to world Domination!
It actually does make a difference to the game - according to the 4.1 FAQ, if a model has more than 50 points of daemonic gifts, he counts as a daemon. That means all the daemonhunter wargear affects him, as does the eldar ghosthelm, etc. So your aspiring champion or whatever could be put at a great risk...Originally Posted by Tunisia
The only difference between tattooed people and non-tattooed people is that tattooed people are awesome and can kick your ass.
"War does not determine who is right - only who is left."
Um.....isn't this a moot point since as a possessed marine he gets affected by the daemonhunter gear anyways?(EDIT: Hmm. Not sure on this as I haven't found any table anywhere in the CSM, DH or their faqs indicating exactly what is and what isn't affected)
But in answer to your 1st question Andusciaddius what I've found is that while the others may be on their way to becoming demon princes it is only in the Chaos Lord's entry that it states this as applying. Ie:It doesn't even mention it for a Lieutenant. As a further note that might help, only the Lord can buy stature indicating a further tendency that only Lords can become true Demon Princes.
Last edited by Grey; January 10th, 2006 at 21:50.
"No one has a monopoly on wisdom."-S.W.G.
Fluff Master Clan initiate.
"I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones."-A.E.
"Before you embark on a journey of revenge, dig two graves."-C.
New 40K missions here.
I'm pretty sure that possessed already have the drawback of beeing counted as deamons, so "whatever weapon only makes it worst against" anything clasified as a deamon, will have the same effect on the possessed already.Originally Posted by Andusciassus
I make this assumption because in the legion spesific rules section where the deamons are limited, IE Alpha legion, and Iron Warriors, It makes mention that possessed and Princes are not restricted.
I don't see why they would need to tell you that possessed are not restricted if they weren't classed as deamons.
So tecnically, your possessed AC could have the equivilant of 70 points of Daemonic gifts, which I guess would technicly put him well on the path to daemonhood, but for gameplay purposes, he's classed as a deamon before all the fun optional upgrades are applied anyway.
Technically, the costs are already included in the models' cost, and therefore would not count towards the Daemonic Gifts/abilities. They would still only be able to take 50 points of Daemonic Gifts, etc. which would mean that they don't count as a Daemon Prince.Originally Posted by daedelus
And where is it stated that Possessed Marines count as Daemons? I can't find anything in the codex stating as much, but I might just be overlooking it. A reference would be appreciated.
You can't make assumptions around the rules, however; they have Daemonic qualities, that is why they aren't allowed in armies such as Alpha Legion, etc. They are not affected by anti-Daemon weaponry from anything that I can tell.
It is just an assumption, as your right, as far as I can tell there is no rule in the Chaos codex that states that they count as deamons. I was jut infering it based on the fact that they are allowed in alpha legion, and Iron Wariors where as other deamons are not.Originally Posted by Lost Nemesis
However, upon further review of the Daemon hunters codex, It states that Possessed are counted as being Deamons for the purposed of any weapons or abilities that effect deamons(DHC, 20).
And while the cost for the daemonic abbilites has already been included in the cost of the possessed, I was just more a matter of fluff stating that you could get 70 points of daemonic upgrades on a possessed AC, although I guess I wasn't all to clear on that. actually I was about as clear as mud on that last point.