Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Time for a good ol' fashion debate. Remember, we're only debating this because it's fun to play with the wording of Games Workshop and common sense does not apply.
The other Terminator Armour + Bikes thread got me thinking about this, but I didn't want to hijack his thread and confuse the original poster.
We all know that Terminators cannot take Chaos Space Marine bikes - that's a given. We covered that in another thread. But what stops a Chaos Marine Biker Aspiring Champion from taking Terminator Armour?
A few points -
*Chaos Space Marine Bikes bought from the armoury are not the same as the bikes that CSM Bikers come with standard. If they were, then all CSM Bikers could upgrade to Plasma/Meltaguns, which is simply not the case. Also, armoury bikes are fitted with Combi-bolters, where the standard bikes are fitted with Twin-Linked Bolters. (Yes, I realize they are functionaly the same thing, but so are Laspistols and Autopistols.)
*The Aspiring Champion already comes with a bike, but all we know is that the CSM Bike from the armoury can not be combined with Terminator Armour. I find no such restriction on bikes that are standard for CSM Bikers.
As far as I can see, so long as the Champion does not upgrade his bike to the Armoury version, then he's not restricted by it being not allowed with Terminator Armour.
Any thoughts? Please keep in mind that common sense does not apply. Logic only. We all know that this is completely rediculous and asinine, thank you. But it is fun to find loop holes in the wording of the Codex, if should we never actually use it in a game. Nobody is actually going to field a Biker Champion with Terminator Armour, so you don't need to point it out.
All posts that refer to "common sense" as the complete basis of an arguement will be summarily edited or deleted.
only items marked with a * can be used by models in term. armour.
So beyond common sense there you go. If you are buying your aspiring champion Term. armour, you buy it from the armoury, and at the top of the armoury it says that line. So it tells you you can't. No loophole here.
The point Caluin is making is that an a.c. in a bike squad does not purchase his bike- he already comes with it. The limitation imposed by terminator armor applies to the armoury, though, it does not state that this limitation is intended to be universally applied to the entire codex- again, only the armoury. Equipment, then, that comes standard in a squad is not subject to the limitation of termi armor.Originally Posted by northoceanbeach
Last edited by Rabbit; January 14th, 2006 at 19:46.
I don't agree with that. He has to buy the Term armour from the armoury, so if he already has an item that cannot be used with the armour than he can't buy it.
the point of the topic is:
"where does it say that?"
Of course, that's sound reasoning in terms of the spirit of the game. I'd like to know, however, where it states this premise in the rules. Logically (I mean philosophical logic and program-based logic for computers) you have to state every little obvious thing, or else there becomes a loop-hole.Originally Posted by northoceanbeach
Last edited by Rabbit; January 14th, 2006 at 19:54.
The only thing I could find remotely relevant (I admit it's somewhat tenuous):Originally Posted by CSM FAQ V3.0
In a perverse logical way Caluin is right, if you were to literally follow the wording. Terminator armour and bikes? cool!
Logic would dictate that the bike would have to be much bigger as even power armoured marines only just fit.
Hmm, I can't think of anything I've ever read that would limit this. Not even gonna try to argue this one. Good Job Cal.
While I wouldn't play him, you just gave me a little modeling project.
One of the biggest mistakes a 40K player can make is taking someone elses army to battle. Remember its your army, play it how you play it.
Well, like Caluin was saying: a bike bought as wargear isn't the same as a bike that the model inherently has. It's like this in all armies actually. Dark Eldar Reaver Jetbikes are Wyches on Jetbikes. Wyches have a 6+ save and Reaver Jetbikes have a 4+ save. Where does this extra armour come from? The Reaver Jetbike, as is described in the armoury, does not indicate any bonus to the model's save. As such, a character taking a bike does not get a 4+ save (unless he already has one, of course). The same goes for Eldar. Guardian's have a 5+ save and Warlocks have a 4+ save, yet Guardian Jetbikes units have a 3+ save and there's a specific entry for Warlocks on Jetbikes -- which gives them a 3+ save. Farseers, however, have no such entry and will have a 4+ save if they take a bike. The relevance to Chaos is simply as I have said: units or models that inherently have a piece of gear are different from units that can only take it as wargear.
Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.
--Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"