Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Before this saturday i thought you didnt have to take the demonic instability test if the demon-host wasnt killed before the demon was summoned. After a GW mega battle one of the workers said either way you must take the test. We both agreed the book is very vague on this issue but he assured me you must take this test.
Does anyone have any articles from White Dwarf or anything?
This is from memory, so may not be exactly correct.
If the demon is summoned normally into a living host, he only takes instability checks when he loses combat or at other times. Just like every other demon.
If the he is summoned by the host being killed, he takes an instability test at the beginning of every turn, in ddition to normal checks.
I think this is what youre asking.
This question certainly is popping its ugly head a lot the past week.
I don't see how the Codex is vague - it's not exactly word specific, but it is clear enough. If the Greater Daemon is summoned in a normal fashion then it does not need to make Instability checks. Only if the Greater Daemon is summoned to a dead host does it need to make a check per turn. Page 13 of the Chaos Codex, left hand column, paragraph four, first sentence, has the words "...possessing a dead host...."
Wow...you know there's always been rumors about how dumb some GW employees are...but seriously i'm beginning to believe they hire exculsively the stupidest people they can find just to piss people off. I'm glad I attend a private gamers club with other people of at least average intelligence.
As Caluin mentioned its only if the Daemon was summoned via a dead host. Otherwise the cost of each GD needs to drop some 50 odd points.
Nevermore Chapter: 6200 pts; 97/49/11; Longest Streak: 9 Wins/4 Losses; Nearing Completion
From the wording in teh codex and some, 'heated', discussion, where I play we've decided that this instability only applies if the G.D. erupts from a DEAD host- to stop people from killing their AC as soon as the squad gets shot, especially with a winged one.
Just to be clear, I don't think this is correct. The Greater Daemon's army list entry states that its fearless, ad the Daemonic Instability section specifically states that it doesn't apply to Greater Daemons (or Possessed marines). If a Greater Daemon came into play with a live host the only way to get rid of it is killing it the old fashioned way.Originally Posted by sephirth
destp is right, the only time GDs take instability checks is when they are summoned from a dead host. Thats what i get for not looking it up first.
ok i just want some hard proof so i can say "hey look your wrong".
The GW employees main arguement is that despite whether the marine is alive or dead before the possesion he is ultimately going to die. Therefore either way it is coming out of a dead space marine.
Next time i'll just have to ask the guy who runs the metro area. He will most likely know.
What a stupid way of trying to apply logic to the rules. You honestly play with these jokers? Are they the same kind of people that state that Space Marine Terminators don't recieve their 5+ invulnerable save? I recommend you find some other place to play.Originally Posted by Akaline
Normally I dislike relying upon Common Sense arguements, but I think this particular case applies. If the daemonhost always counted as "dead" when the Greater Daemon is summoned, why would the Codex bother to even point out that the Greater Daemon has to come from a dead host in order to take Instability checks? Wouldn't they just say "The Greater Daemon does this every turn...."? Next, I would ask those people "So what exactly counts as a living daemonhost?"
these employees have won staff tournies and ****. so i listen to what they have to say. but yeah good arguements ill present them to the people next time i go in.