Which Lord? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Which Lord?

  1. #1
    LO Zealot numberofthebeastxxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    I'm the all-singing all-dancing crap of this world. I'm the toxic waste by-product of Gods creation.
    Posts
    1,328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    60 (x3)

    Which Lord?

    Got an RTT coming up the 25th. I've used my Annihilation Angels (chaos using NL rules) in one form or another for the last few RTT's I've played (with great success). So I'm refining the list a bit. I'm stuck between 2 lords and I was wondering if I could get some input as to which one to use.

    (remember NL rules so they both automatially have night vision)

    1st Lord (192)
    ccw, dreadaxe, bionics, frags, spikey bits, aura, speed, stature, strength, armour, furious charge.

    On the charge this guy gets 5 I6, S7 attacks with one re-roll and no saves. He'll get into combat quick, take quite a bit of damage in combat, but he can be targeted by shooting.

    2nd Lord (196)
    MoCU, lightning claws, frags, spikey bits, aura, mutation, strength, armour, furious charge, infiltrate.

    This guy gets 6 I6, S6 attacks, with one hit re-roll, and any wound re-rolls. While not as durable, he has the potential to get into combat on the 1st turn, can re-roll more attacks, and can't be targeted by shooting since he's not monstrous. But he can potentially be killed by models that can take his hits with invulnerable saves.

    I know there a bit more expensive than your standard lord. I usually don't give the lord dem. armour and such, but in past RTT's he has taken some punishment to shooting after wiping a squad out or getting hit by squads with tons of attacks. A 3+ save wasen't really cutting it.

    Comments?

    "My father is the jailhouse. My father is your system....
    I am only what you made me. I am only a reflection of you"
    -Charles Manson


    Fluff Masters Clan Leader
    Super Villians
    Order of the Shadowy Flame
    Votewar! Check It Out!

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Now with STFU flames! Caluin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Age
    36
    Posts
    5,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    708 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by numberofthebeastxxx
    But he can potentially be killed by models that can take his hits with invulnerable saves.
    What models do you fear having an Invulnerable save? The only thing I can really think of is the occasional IC, which you shouldn't be targeting anyways, and Terminators, which if you're attacking them with your Lord, you deserve to lose him to a hail of Powerfists.

    Though, it looks like #2 is illegal, so #1 wins by default. Remember that when you have a Mark of the Gods then you may only have one Veteran Skill, unless your legion allows more.

    Why the Lightning Claws anyways? You wound on a 2+ against most basic troops on the Charge anyways, so what does that expensive pair of Claws net you? Maybe one extra wound, if you're lucky? You would be better off dropping them and Daemonic Strength and taking just a Darkblade - strength six is all you really need.


  4. #3
    LO Zealot numberofthebeastxxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    I'm the all-singing all-dancing crap of this world. I'm the toxic waste by-product of Gods creation.
    Posts
    1,328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    60 (x3)

    Pardon me. Thats my army builder. Drop the MoCU from the 2nd. Now he's legal. What I meant by the invulnerables was I find that SM players like to run a chaplain with an assault squad or something to that effect. In one RTT there was one with the assault squad, and in another army he ran with a bike squad. The 4+ rosarius is annoying.

    Oh, and the 1st lord ha had great luck tearing up some termie squads actually. I would never charge a big squad, but he's taken out 4 guys (out of 5) and of course the one left didn't kill him, so the preceding round finished him. Plus, he is great against those damn rune armoured eldar. I usually run the 1st guy as you can prob tell...

    Any other thoughts?
    "My father is the jailhouse. My father is your system....
    I am only what you made me. I am only a reflection of you"
    -Charles Manson


    Fluff Masters Clan Leader
    Super Villians
    Order of the Shadowy Flame
    Votewar! Check It Out!

  5. #4
    Senior Member Dodge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Age
    28
    Posts
    788
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    41 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Caluin
    What models do you fear having an Invulnerable save? The only thing I can really think of is the occasional IC, which you shouldn't be targeting anyways, and Terminators, which if you're attacking them with your Lord, you deserve to lose him to a hail of Powerfists.

    Though, it looks like #2 is illegal, so #1 wins by default. Remember that when you have a Mark of the Gods then you may only have one Veteran Skill, unless your legion allows more.

    Why the Lightning Claws anyways? You wound on a 2+ against most basic troops on the Charge anyways, so what does that expensive pair of Claws net you? Maybe one extra wound, if you're lucky? You would be better off dropping them and Daemonic Strength and taking just a Darkblade - strength six is all you really need.
    Does that mean Raptors with MoCu, infiltrate and furious charge are illegal? And with a lieutenant?


  6. #5
    Member shoottokill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Minnesota
    Age
    42
    Posts
    207
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -4 (x0)

    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    Does that mean Raptors with MoCu, infiltrate and furious charge are illegal? And with a lieutenant?
    Yup.
    fRESH lives

  7. #6
    LO Zealot numberofthebeastxxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    I'm the all-singing all-dancing crap of this world. I'm the toxic waste by-product of Gods creation.
    Posts
    1,328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    60 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    Does that mean Raptors with MoCu, infiltrate and furious charge are illegal? And with a lieutenant?
    As stated. Yep. Any unit with a mark can only take one vet. skill. Thats why my raptor squads have no mark. Even tho it does happen, it's rare that I'll fail a Ld test on LD 10.

    More on topic...

    Any one else have thoughts on my lords?
    "My father is the jailhouse. My father is your system....
    I am only what you made me. I am only a reflection of you"
    -Charles Manson


    Fluff Masters Clan Leader
    Super Villians
    Order of the Shadowy Flame
    Votewar! Check It Out!

  8. #7
    Now with STFU flames! Caluin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Age
    36
    Posts
    5,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    708 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by numberofthebeastxxx
    Any one else have thoughts on my lords?
    Well, I'm not a fan of the Dreadaxe in the first place. Dark Blade is a bit more consistent for me, since even though they still recieve their Invulnerable save, they only need to fail it once to die.

    Though, I'm still leaning towards the second Lord. Simply because the sooner he reaches combat, the sooner he starts making back his points. While the Statured Prince might be more effective, the non-Statured is a threat that your opponent must deal with on the first turn, which buys the rest of your army some time to advance.

    However, if you routinely find yourself with your Lord stuck in combat with models with Invulnerable saves, you might just want to go with the Stature/Dreadaxe combo. I myself never fight that many, so it's never been an issue for me.


  9. #8
    Senior Member Soviet_Tau_Commander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NB, Canada
    Age
    31
    Posts
    822
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    18 (x2)

    If you drop the MoCU from #2 he's still won't be leagle. If you are using the NL rules then every single model must have MoCU.

    On a side note: I don't think you should be able to use NL rules for a non-NL army.
    There once was a Lord named Vlad,
    Who's fighting skillz really were mad.
    He killed and he maimed,
    He spilled blood in Khorne's name.
    And the fact that he's legal makes me glad
    (special thanks to Uriel Zarium for the last line/touching it up)

  10. #9
    Now with STFU flames! Caluin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Age
    36
    Posts
    5,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    708 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Soviet_Tau_Commander
    If you drop the MoCU from #2 he's still won't be leagle. If you are using the NL rules then every single model must have MoCU.
    Huh? Where'd you come up with that? That's not right at all. Can you cite a reference for that? In fact, it's unfluffy to even have Marked unit in a Night Lords army, but that's the only way you'll be able to summon Furies.

    Quote Originally Posted by Soviet_Tau_Commander
    On a side note: I don't think you should be able to use NL rules for a non-NL army.
    Why? So long as he conforms to the restrictions of the Night Lords, what does it matter how he paints and names his army?


  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Age
    25
    Posts
    622
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    -9 (x0)

    The CCW on the first lord may as well be replaced with a pistol- they're only a couple of points more, and would make their points back just by evening the probability...
    *In My Mind*

    (\_/)
    (0.0)
    (><)This is Bunny. Copy Bunny into your signature to help him on his way to world Domination!

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts