Multiple Chaos Spawn - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Festo Diata TwoHats's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    85 (x2)

    Multiple Chaos Spawn

    I seem to remember a sentence somewhere like "nothing in the Armoury may be chosen twice." However, some items in the Chaos Armoury can be chosen more than once, such as Thrall Wizards. That said, my question is:

    Can an Aspiring Champion be accompanied by multiple Chaos Spawn, or just one?

    Thanks.

    2H - LEGIO HYDRA

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Daedelus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Kamloops, BC
    Age
    33
    Posts
    301
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    39 (x1)

    It actually says that you can't recieve the benifit twice. says nothing about actually taking it. Since the chaos spawn dosn't directly effect the model buying it, I'd have to say yes.

    Edit: I have nothing to back this claim up with, I was wrong, you may only have 1.
    Last edited by Daedelus; February 17th, 2006 at 20:40.
    Quote Originally Posted by Andusciassus
    there is a difference in a well educated kick and an amateur one.

  4. #3
    Librarian from Hell Andusciassus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Ronneby (Sweden)
    Age
    43
    Posts
    4,133
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    746 (x8)

    If I remember correctly some followers has rules that states you can have more then one, this would be Thralls and Hounds if memory serves me right. I don't think you can have more then one Spawn though...not when you begin the game that is of course. You can have like 11 if you are really lucky and carry the mark of Tzeentch

  5. #4
    Spiky MindRaked's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    768
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    201 (x4)

    The only way to have more than 1 chaos spawn is to use multiple chosen aspiring champions with 1 Chaos spawn each or gift of chaos
    MindRaked
    CHAOS Undiv.: won 14/22 games EC: 4/7 WE: 6/9 DG: 10/15, TS: 3/7 Orks : 13/20 SM NL : 1/6 TAU: 14 of 24 IG: 3/7

  6. #5
    Now with STFU flames! Caluin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Age
    36
    Posts
    5,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    708 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Daedelus
    It actually says that you can't recieve the benifit twice. says nothing about actually taking it. Since the chaos spawn dosn't directly effect the model buying it, I'd have to say yes.
    The benefit of taking the Chaos Spawn Daemonic Gift is that you get to have a Chaos Spawn as a follower. Since you can't have the benefit of a single gift more than once, you can't claim more than one Spawn follow on any model at the beginning of the game.

    Thralls are allowed up to four because the entry for them specifically states that you can control up to four. There is no such stipulation for Chaos Spawn, which means you may only have one.


  7. #6
    Member Watusa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
    Age
    28
    Posts
    105
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    I would have to agree with caluins POV it is registered under Demonic GIFTS and not under wargear, and it does say that you CANNOT take a deamonic gift more then once. If you would like to make more of them take the Gift of chaos magic abilitie. another thing if you want to buff up your squads more w/o using marines is to take the Chaos hounds, ads 2 atks at S4 i believe and they can each soak up a wound or two, i dont have my codex to confirm the wounds on the wolfs.

  8. #7
    Son of LO MouseC112's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,059
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    106 (x6)

    Hounds are ok for adding extra attacks, but remember to be careful as during shooting your taking the saves off the majority armor save... could run into problems in some situations. however if your anticipating getting big by ordinance, might be nice to allocate some of those wounds to the hounds.

    As for the spawn, i find if you really want spawns, have a CSM squad where the aspiring takes a spawn then lead the squad with a LT with sorc/gift. That way you can turn stuff into spawns even debate starting the LT with a spawn pending points left.
    40K-Beakies(9-14-4),Guard(4-7-2),Orks(34-12-11). FANTASY-Dwarves(15-6-7),Beasts (14-14-1), Skaven (17-17-10) DoC (6-1-2). CYGNAR (28-15-1)

  9. #8
    Swarm Queen of LO grimmtu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Ich gehe jetzt.
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,174
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    131 (x4)

    The entry for Hounds on page 16 and the entry for Thralls on page 60 both specifically state that you can have up to 4 of them. The entry for the Chaos Spawn doesn't mention being able to take more than one, so I'd say you can only take one.

  10. #9
    Librarian from Hell Andusciassus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Ronneby (Sweden)
    Age
    43
    Posts
    4,133
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    746 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by MouseC112
    during shooting your taking the saves off the majority armor save...
    This should be the mixed armour rule, not the majority save. So, it's not as bad as one might think.

  11. #10
    Son of LO MouseC112's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,059
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    106 (x6)

    Thats what i meant, thanks for clarifying
    40K-Beakies(9-14-4),Guard(4-7-2),Orks(34-12-11). FANTASY-Dwarves(15-6-7),Beasts (14-14-1), Skaven (17-17-10) DoC (6-1-2). CYGNAR (28-15-1)

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts