Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can a statured Slaaneshi Daemon Prince take a Doom Siren?
Edit - - I'm asking because the doom siren isn't listed among the weapons in the Daemonic Stature entry of the codex. However, it's not a weapon in the traditional sense, and I'd really, really like to give my statured prince a doom siren...
Last edited by grimmtu; March 6th, 2006 at 01:40.
As far as I'm aware, yes..
Could be a fun modelling project.
Okay, sorry to do this to you, but I have to take back my original answer. It looks like it may very well be "no, they may not."
Here's why - it is a weapon. It has a weapon profile, and is referred to as a weapon in the description for it in the Slaaneshi armoury. In the Daemonic Stature description it specifically lists which weapons they may wield, and the Doom Siren does not appear on that list. Gifts of the Gods are not listed as a whole, but instead listed one by one (Axe of Khorne, Plague Sword, etc). The Doom Siren is not listed along with the others, which leads me to believe that it may not.
Again, sorry for giving you a false answer.
Caluin, you are a shark among the fishes... (whatever that means).
Unfortunately Caluin, you aren't exactly correct. A Doom Siren is a piece of wargear that gives you a shooting attack, much like daemonic fire. Daemonic fire isn't a weapon. Further proof would be in the fact that models with the MoS replace a meltagun with a doom siren, bolt pistol and close combat weapon. In the armoury, it says that a model with a doom siren "may make a shooting attack with the following profile:"
A doom siren isn't a weapon at all........
It also says, in that exact same sentence; "... instead of shooting with another weapon..." Daemon Fire says "...instead of firing a weapon..."Originally Posted by monsieurcartier
The fact you replace a meltgun with it further proves the point - you replace one weapon with another. The reason you can the Bolt Pistol/CCW is because the Doom Siren allows a model to have three weapons, so long as one is the Doom Siren.
Lastly, if you check the FAQ, it specifically states that it does not count as a weapon "... in regards to the maximum amount of weapons a model is allowed..." The FAQ also goes out of its way to point out it can be combined with Talons/Venom - why would it do that if it wasn't a weapon to begin with?
My original answer was how you put it - a piece of wargear that gives you a shooting attack. But unfortunately, I didn't research it well enough to give a proper answer. The Doom Siren is indeed a weapon, and is restricted from Daemon Princes.
Ok, so no doom siren on a statured prince. It's ok, because I actually would almost always use fleet of foot instead. And it gives me a few extra points to work with...
Now, on a slightly related topic, it seems that the decision is that a statured prince can't take a doom siren because it's a weapon and not a piece of wargear (being listed in the "Sonic Weaponry" section and all). However, the Servo Arm is (at least in my first printing codex) listed as wargear. This should then mean that a statured iron warriors prince can take a servo arm... right? Afterall, it's not a weapon, it just gives the model one powerfist equivalent attack and allows it to repair vehicles. Now that's interesting...