Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can anyone tell me if Gifts of the Gods count towards the 100pt limit for Daemonic Gifts? Is there a rule that states how this is handled? I read in a 3rd edition FAQ that they count as Daemonic Gifts, but cannot find a written rule that states so in the latest codex.
Im pretty sure it says in the FAQ that they dont count.
The last sentence in the Limits portion talks about duplicate wargear. I am trying to prove to my Chaos opponent that his Chaos Lord is illegal. He has about 100pts of items listed in the Deamonic Gifts table plus many Gifts of the Gods items. I cannot find a rule which states that Gifts of the Gods counts towards the Deamonic Gifts limit....
It also states so on pg 14 in the paragraph following "Gifts of the Gods" only things from the gifts that don't count towards the Daemonic gifts limit are psychic powers.
W/D/L Eleventy trillion billion/NONE/ NONE - I am STILL rulezor!
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!
Get the faq off the uk or aus site. It has a list of what is and isnt counted or I cna send you the document if you like.
As far as I can tell, the FAQ only explains which items count toward a wargear limit, not a Daemonic Gifts limit.
Unfortunately I cannot check this right now (Codex not with me), but I will find out first thing in the morning. Thanks for the reference.
It is daemonic wargear. It's in a faq and if not 4.1 then 4.2 and ask yourself, why wouldn't it be daemonic?
Found it. Page 16 in the weapons reference in the chaos codex. it says that daemnic gifts that function as weapons count towards the daemonic gifts limit.
Your friend may not have the most recent(or even a moderately recent) version of the codex. If he doesn't that may be the reason that certain rules are missing. He's still is wrong though, try finding a more recent version of teh codex.
Nevermore Chapter: 6200 pts; 97/49/11; Longest Streak: 9 Wins/4 Losses; Nearing Completion
Is there some new version of the Codex that you all are pulling your info from? I have what I thought was the latest codex......published in 2002. All of your information seems to be pointing to the same pages as I am reading. Either many of you are reading as interpreted (RAI) instead of reading as written (RAW), or I don't have the right book.
Again, let me point out that I am trying to prove that my opponent's Chaos Lord cannot have 100pts of Deamonic gifts plus additional items listed in the Gifts of the Gods section. What I currently have is many ideas and rules that merely suggest this. My opponent plans on running his army as it currently stands until I can find a rule which states that things like Nurgle's Rot, Blight Grenades, and Plague Banners count towards a Chaos Lord's 100pt Daemonic Gifts limit. For instance, on pg14 under Daemonic Weapons it clearly states "The cost of a Daemonic Weapon counts towards the total spent on Daemonic Gifts". I need something like that in regards to Gifts of the Gods.
The paragraph you suggested is commenting on Gifts of the Gods counting toward the Wargear Limit, not the Daemonic Gifts limit....and says nothing about Phychic Powers.
I have the 4.01 FAQ. Nothing in there answers my question. I have not seen a 4.02 FAQ anywhere on the UK site. Can you point me to it?
He's using the same codex I mentioned previously. The one from 2002.