Chaos Hounds - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Chaos Hounds

  1. #1
    Member TheCage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Age
    28
    Posts
    161
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    Chaos Hounds

    In the dex it states that hounds move at the same speed as their masters, though it gives example of 12' in the movement and assault phases. So I have 2 questions:

    1. Can the hounds go with the lord if he has a bike and turbos? It techinically is moving at the same speed. I guess it's either they can't, or they can but don't ge the abilities for turbo boosting, they are just moving as fast as he is.

    2. Can you allocate wounds to the hounds like those SW wolves?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member JORMAGI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Age
    39
    Posts
    886
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    50 (x2)

    1) They can keep up with a turbo boosted bike. The rules say they keep up, and don't make an exception for turbo boosting bikes.

    2) They use normal Majority toughness & majority armor rules, I don't know about any special rules for space wolves, but they can take wounds for the squad under the right conditions. (Sorry don't know if that answers your question or not.)
    Votewar MKV 2nd place. . .

    Back from internet limbo, and glad to be here.

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    In teh webwayz
    Age
    24
    Posts
    954
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    46 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by TheCage
    though it gives example of 12' in the movement and assault phases.
    Don't you mean 12"?
    AGLOCO - Earn money by browsing the internet!


    Quote Originally Posted by Krevzi and Me
    Warhammer is like crack. But more expensive.
    Quote Originally Posted by Karmoon View Post
    Learn parasite, that us Chaos players like to have our cake and eat it. In fact, we particularly like stealing the poor necrons' cake and eating that too, because they're too slow.

  5. #4
    Sadomachiatto Karmoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt, Germany
    Posts
    7,076
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    790 (x8)

    A 12' Assaut and move(!).. that's some hardcore moving going on
    LO Rules

    Quote Originally Posted by Anonymous
    Anyone who's as loyal and motivated to doing what they love as you are is respectable in my book
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyric
    I'm taking leave of my senses and shall be out of my mind until further notice.

  6. #5
    Now with STFU flames! Caluin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Age
    36
    Posts
    5,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    708 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by TheCage
    1. Can the hounds go with the lord if he has a bike and turbos? It techinically is moving at the same speed. I guess it's either they can't, or they can but don't ge the abilities for turbo boosting, they are just moving as fast as he is.
    Technically, no. He won't be able to Turbo-boost. Since the hounds form a unit with the character, they obey all unit rules with the exception that an IC may still join other units if he wishes.

    If you check page 76 of the 40K Rule Book, you'll see that the Turbo-boosters Universal Rule has an asterisk beside it, meaning that if anyone in a unit does not have that ability, then all models lose it. Since the Hounds don't have Turbo-boost, then the character loses it....

    Of course, this is an example of hard core rule lawyering, but it is something you should consider. The vast majority of people will allow the hounds to keep up with a Turbo-Boosting character, simply because it's easier and makes more sense.


  7. #6
    Member TheCage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Age
    28
    Posts
    161
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    Instead of starting a new thread, I have one more question.

    Can a model with hounds infiltrate?

  8. #7
    Ota
    Ota is offline
    Member Ota's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Czech Republic (ČR)
    Age
    31
    Posts
    275
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    41 (x1)

    I don't know why not... :book:
    I was wrong... :unsure: :hmm:
    Last edited by Ota; July 10th, 2006 at 21:44.
    Ota

    English?
    ... try Czech language ;-)

  9. #8
    Now with STFU flames! Caluin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Age
    36
    Posts
    5,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    708 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by TheCage
    Can a model with hounds infiltrate?
    Models with followers may not use the Infiltration skill. Check the Infiltration entry in the Chaos Armoury.


  10. #9
    Member TreeSapX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Age
    31
    Posts
    182
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    22 (x1)

    Once the Hounds (followers) are part of a unit, any abilities that unit has to use together are lost just like when an IC joins (I believe). For example, all models in a unit must have a veteran skill if it is to be used at all. Same goes with the turbo-boosting. The rules under using the boosting I believe state that if one model uses it then all models must use it.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts