P-fist + Doom Siren - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Simple Green. Emp.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    969
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    63 (x2)

    P-fist + Doom Siren

    Just need a little help understanding this combo, p-fists are said to go last (I-1), but doom sirens say that model attacks first regardless of weapons. So even the model have a p-fist, he will still strike first because of doom siren right?

    5th E Sand(Grey) Knights: 11-3 (retired) 5th E Eldar: 37-4 (retired) 5th E Wolves 5-0

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Xiahou Dun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Age
    32
    Posts
    696
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    54 (x2)

    no, attacks from powerfists are always delievered at intitiative 1. Ignoring any and all special rules.
    "You challenge me knowing that I am Xiahou Dun!?"
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    From what the rule book says about P.Fists, they always are at I-1, regardless of inititive, even if the model is in cover, or, if it has some special ability that allows it to go first.

    I had to call GW once because of a sisters player using the I-boost on her sisters repentia. (And thats an interesting idea, they cant do it anyway, they're not faithfull) but that is a little off topic.

  5. #4
    Simple Green. Emp.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    969
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    63 (x2)

    damn, that's a let downer, oh well, thanks for the reply!
    5th E Sand(Grey) Knights: 11-3 (retired) 5th E Eldar: 37-4 (retired) 5th E Wolves 5-0

  6. #5
    Senior Member Soviet_Tau_Commander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NB, Canada
    Age
    31
    Posts
    822
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    18 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Xiahou Dun
    no, attacks from powerfists are always delievered at intitiative 1. Ignoring any and all special rules.
    That is correct. Powerfists go at I-1. This is an imutable rule from the 40k Rulebook.
    There once was a Lord named Vlad,
    Who's fighting skillz really were mad.
    He killed and he maimed,
    He spilled blood in Khorne's name.
    And the fact that he's legal makes me glad
    (special thanks to Uriel Zarium for the last line/touching it up)

  7. #6
    Now with STFU flames! Caluin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Age
    36
    Posts
    5,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    708 (x8)

    It should also be noted that the wording for the Doom Siren in the Third Printing (which you're pulling from) is also a mis-print, due to sloppy copy/pasting on GWs part. It's supposed to read "Always strikes in init order regardless of cover."


  8. #7
    Senior Member xrix1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Guelph (Canada)
    Age
    36
    Posts
    671
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    62 (x2)

    While I trust you implicitly Caluin, there is an EC player in the group I play with who constantly uses doom sirens for the always goes first effect (not on powerfists though). Is there any direction asside from the unoffical 4.2 faq I can point him?

  9. #8
    Dancing Peanuts? You bet! Robizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Plymouth
    Posts
    1,350
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    106 (x4)

    I'm not sure if it officially says that anymore...they took down the FAQ's. You might be able to look around for it...

  10. #9
    Now with STFU flames! Caluin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Age
    36
    Posts
    5,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    708 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by xrix1
    While I trust you implicitly Caluin, there is an EC player in the group I play with who constantly uses doom sirens for the always goes first effect (not on powerfists though). Is there any direction asside from the unoffical 4.2 faq I can point him?
    Unfortunately, no, there isn't. Until GW makes the 4.2 FAQ official, there is nothing concrete that can stop someone from using the Doom Siren to go first in close combat.


  11. #10
    Dancing Peanuts? You bet! Robizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Plymouth
    Posts
    1,350
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    106 (x4)

    Well that's a bit silly.

    They're taking a long time with updating these FAQ's, huh?

    What's with Slaanesh players and initiative? I know someone who claims if he charges into cover with Frag Grenades, he makes the people in the cover Initiative 9, so he strikes first.

    Sure, this could be correct, but I was under the impression that the Initiative 10 thing was immutable...like power fists going last.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts