Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
What is the proper handling of Perils of the Warp for Daemon Weapons?
Assume for a moment that my handler of a Daemon Weapon fails his/her Leadership test per the CM Codex. I now incur a Perils of the Warp Attack. Flipping back to the WH40K rulebook, I find that this effect (1 wound) is incurred upon Psykers that roll a 2 or a 12 on their Leadership roll.
Given that my HQ Demon Lord has a Leadership of 10, this could be a moot point. In either case, only two possible rolls (1, 1 or 6, 6 in one case and 5, 6 or 6, 6 in the other) could cause the Wound. Same odds (1 of 1 in either case, so who cares? Still, I would hate to find that I was operating on one assumption and my opponent operated on another at a crucial moment.
Further, does Feel No Pain apply against the Perils of the Warp? Nothing in the rules contradicts this, but since it changes my odds of suffering from a Wound from use of a Daemon Weapon from 1/18 to 1/36, well I'm not trying to be greedy or anything but it would be good to know what the grizzled have to say about it.
Last edited by raoulduke; June 20th, 2006 at 10:42.
I apologize for the late reply - I just now saw this in the FAQ thread, and thought it deserved a more appropriate place.When you fail the Mastery test, you're to have assumed that you've failed a Perils of the Warp test. You don't take two tests - you only take one. If you fail it, you've suffered the hit.Originally Posted by raouldukePersonally, I'd say "Yes." Feel No Pain works against any wounds suffered, with the exception of Instant Death attacks and CC weapons that ignore armour saves. The Perils of the Warp attack is neither of these.Originally Posted by raoulduke
The only contradicting evidence that I can find is that Perils of the Warp wounds allow no kind of save what so ever, but Feel No Pain isn't technically a save.
Yeah, Cal has it pretty much sussed. Although with Perils of the Warp, you dont just suffer a wound, remember. You take a strength 6 hit - meaning that it'll only wound a model with stature and resilience on a 4+. combined with Feel No Pain, which would logically work against it, you've got a fairly low chance of dying.
Oh yeah, silly me. How could I have missed that. ^_^