Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
is it ture that u can't take a defiler or a dreadnought in a 500pt game. because to me that would be over kill cause really nobody would be able to fight it.
If you have the points after your 1HQ 2Troops, you can do it, unless it specifically says in the codex or rulebook that you can't. Simple as.
*In My Mind*
(><)This is Bunny. Copy Bunny into your signature to help him on his way to world Domination!
Perhaps you're thinking of Combat Patrol rules. Those are 400 points games, but often times people get them mixed up with 500 points. The rules for Combat Patrol are quite strict, and it is true that Defilers and Dreads are not allowed. But in regular, run of the mill 500 points games, both are valid options if you can fit them into the FO slot.
Thank you i will keep that in mind as i build a list heard from a friend you can't so i thought i would ask.:w00t:
The point to the rule is that there is a limited amount of points to work with, and it's hard to fit anti-tank into the picture. Some armies are literaly only 2 squads. Because of this only vehicles with an armor value light enough to be killed with anti-troop weapons are legal in combat patrols.
Votewar MKV 2nd place. . .
Back from internet limbo, and glad to be here.
Many people think if you are playing 500 points or less, it's automatically a combat patrol game. This is not true. Combat patrols are totally different types of games, with it's own rules set.
The only rule you have to stick with in a normal game is 1HQ, and 2 troops. If you have the points after fitting that in, you can put what ever you want, as long as it's with in the force org rules. ie 3 elites, 3 fast attack, 3 heavies.
This is why I love Alpha Legion. My first game I played a 500 game with my friend. Everything was infiltrate, so all I deployed was my dread. He freaked out and claimed I was cheating, I can't have just a dread in my army. I assured him I had the compulsary requirements, but they were infiltrating. At which point he said I still must be cheating because there is no way marines can afford a dread in 500 points.
1 cheap HQ
1 squad of 8 marines with bolters and AC.
1 squad of cultists
1 dread with the TL heavy bolters. Hmmm was a fun game.
lol thats a cruel tactic to play on somebody Gman, very effective i assume though?
Yea it was very effective, especially since I was playing vs orks. He didn't like those TL heavy bolters and the armor. He only had a single roket launcher that could have done something against the dread, and I think one of them powerclaw/flamers. I just kept it away from those, and shot the snot out of him. But it didnt' work the second time we played, he went and brought in his 80 something point dread and truk. I kind of guessed that though, so I gave the dread TL autocannons to contend with his armor. LOL It's fun