Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hello. I am pretty new to this hobby and I have a few questions aboout death company. I play a deathguard army that infiltrates everything but a possessed squad. I had my ass handed to me today by someone playing death company and I have a few questions about his list as it seempretty damn harsh for a thousand points.
First of all, in his death company he had two chaplains with power weapons, which I know they can take, but it was the four veterans with power fists in the same unit that got me. He had about 15 or 17 total with jetpacks, did a rage thing, and ended up moving 17 inches then assaulting me. After shooting him up he assaulted my next unit and hit me like nine times with powerfists and his chaplains powerwepons did not help either. Then his walker raged and ran forword and upon assaulting did d6 + 5? attacks. Ended up hitting my possessed 10 times. Just wondering if this is all sounding legal cause it sounded like a load of **** to me. 17 death company including four vets and two chaplains, two other squads with missile launchers, a walker and a rhino with a squad in it.
Any help on these matters is appreciated.
I dont think anything other than a bike or with fleet of wing can move over 12"
Ok, he's screwing you.
First, the chaplain gets like, 3+D3 death company. I don't remember the exact amount. Then he gets to roll a D6 per squad. On a roll of 4+, he can add a guy to the death company from that squad. IF he uses a veteran sergeant, the Death Company member gets a power weapon. IF he rolls a 6, he gets to roll again.
Mathematically speaking, 15-17 death company is almost impossible, unless you were playing 2000+ points and he had all six troop choices + a lot of other squads to draw his death company from. Two squads with missile launchers won't provide 17 death company, much less 4 veteran sergeant death co guys with powerweapons.
The walker does get to rage, but I don't think it has a base of 5 attacks. Ask him to see the blood angels codex, or look online at Games Workshop's Blood Angels errata .pdf file.
Comfirmed Disciple of Chaos
Rogue Angel: "Meet da Chaos Lord"
Not impossible, but highly improbable. Especially when playing only 1000 points, having 15 DC is a huge amount.Originally Posted by Suffering Becomes
Assuming he rolled perfect on both his Chappys, that makes for 12 DC. Four powerfists means he pulled four Vet Sarges, so up to 16. That's some pretty good rolling, and I have a hard time believing that he was able to squeeze in two Chappys and four troops choices and a Dread into a 1000 points game. Each Chappy runs about 200 points alone, so that's nearly half his army just on his HQ.
The movement part seems about right, though. Blood Angels have a special rule that allows them to rage on a certain dice roll. It basically gives them a free six inch movement 1/6th of the time. So that part is believable.
The Walker having d6 attacks sounds like a Special Character. Blood Angels Dreads are a bit different than the norm, but all normal choices have a set amount of attacks. They do have a Special Character that gains D6+2 a turn, but there's really no way for it to get up to +5. They can rage, however.
So, sounds like your opponent was cheating you. However, cases like these typically turn out that things are a bit exaggerated, so take this all with a grain of salt.
I play Blood Angels and it's possible to get a big DC if you get lucky on rolls and run double chaplains, however, the dreadnaught thing was BS. Moriar is a special character and could possible get 8 attacks or 9 on the charge but base 5 +D6 is all wrong.
Ok, I talked to his friend and he said while he was not sure about the size of the death company his walker pretty much gets a bonus when it rages and gets d6 plus 4 on the charge with some other bonus if he rages. He also said that the blood angels player is supposed to roll in front of me or a neutral party to make sure he does not fudge the results. He is also supposed to lose all wargear on whomever he moves to dc and chose a power weapon or a powerfist? Does this mean he can have a whole ****load of powerfists? Anyone familiar with this? He says his friend is using an old blood angels codex and army, which is why his terminators (which I forgot to list) were on small bases. I have pretty much gotten over my anger at this and am now focusing it on falcons...
I'm looking at my BA codex and I play BA. If he is running the special dread Moriar he does NOT get 4 attacks +D6. He gets 2 base with a 3rd on the charge. The black rage only works if you roll a 1 and then he moves an extra d6 towards the enemy.
If he pays the points to put vet sarg's into his units he may pull them to the DC but remember he loses them in his normal units, but yes he could have a unit full of power weapons or fist or any combo of the such. Remember though, his normal DC that come standard with the chaplain will have bolt pistols and chain swords, only the few fallen sargeants will have the power weapons/fists.
He also has to roll DC from his terminators and most BA players don't want to lose a 40 pt. model to the DC, so be sure he makes that roll. I'd even go as far as to have him announce what unit he's rolling for and do it in front of you.
Also remember that if a Blood angels squad goes below the minimum squad size because models have been removed for Death Company, that whole squad is removed from the game as casualties (except for the ones who go to death company).
Correct me if Im wrong as I haven't played BA in ages.