Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I did a search first but I couldn't find any question like this.
In the Chaos Codex it says we're allowed to take power weapons. However, there is no power weapon description (I see Deamonic and their specific types, but no "power weapon"). Since it is not discussed in the Chaos Armory I went and looked up power weapons in the main rule book.
Now, there is an entry for power weapons but it is a general description that says what a power weapon might do, but to look in the specifc codex to see how that Army uses power weapons. So there is the problem, there is no entry for power weapons in the Chaos Codex!
At the beginning of the armory it gives a point cost for power weapons.
In the Armory, it lists everything you can take and describes it, except for power weapons.
At the end of the text (right before all the color pictures) it lists everything and it's respective stats but no power weapon entry!
I know power weapons (general) are different the the Kai gun or Axe of Khorne (which aren't even power weapons but Deamonic weapons). So, I have a LT in my list with a power weapon and I have no idea what it does :wacko: . Please help.
As far as I know everything that is described as a power weapon works as is described in the main rule book.
Long ago there was something in me, but now that thing is gone,
I cannot cry, I cannot care, that thing will come back no more.
If you like someone's post and/or found it useful please add to their reputation
The main rule book does not actually detail power weapons, it describes them (like saying A Sword is Shiney! Ok, but how sharpe is it?). It has a paragraph that says something to the effect "that most power weapons ignore armor saves and have other special abilities, but see the Codex for actual rules".Originally Posted by Zartas
Trust uncle karmoon when i say:What you said there just about nails it on the head. Axe o Khorne, Man reaper, Dark Blade are good examples of when the Codex goes beyond. But otherwise, that's about it.that most power weapons ignore armor saves
But, aren't those Daemonic weapons and thus different from power weapons? Also, if you read the power weapon entry you'll see that ignoring armor saves is not garunteed but supposed to be detailed in the codex.Originally Posted by Karmoon
Right now, my understanding is that a standard "Power weapon" gains the bonus over regular CCW of ignoring Armor Saves. That's how they're played (I guess)? What do other codexes, like CM say about the entry of "power weapon". We should have something, somewhere, in the codex that describes it.
Shaol! Stop it man! You're talking crazy!!
Seriously dude, you're making a mountain out of a molehill.
There is no conspiracy, there are no hidden twists. Chaos P. WEaps behave like anyother power weapon attack. I can't quote exact references at you, but you understand it correctly.
Further more, Plague sword and Axe o Khorne are NOT daemon weapons. They are power weapons with extended abilities. You should be able to ascertain what a power weapon does from their description. But that's of no use, because you already know, and you're 100% right in your understanding.
yeah when any book refers to a power weapon it is quite simply a close combat weapon that ignores armour saves that is the standard power weapon for all races, there are certain power weapons chaos or other that have extra 'abilities' such as the space wolf frostblade, the khorne axe or the sword of secrets but they are under seperate headings and have their own descriptions and cost
"take my love, take my land, take me to where i cannot stand, i don't care i'm still free you can't take the sky from meee" ;- firefly
"i'm gonna grant you your greatest wish i'm gonna show you a world without sin" ;- serentiy
"I am a leaf on the wind, watch how i soar" ;- serenity
Pg 46 of the main rule book has all of the special close combat attacks.
"power weapons ignores armor saves" When a codex refers to another weapon as a power weapon, it takes that characteristic along with any other special characteristic associated with that weapon. Further in the same page and may give other characteristics "as detailed in the appropriate army codex"
W/D/L Eleventy trillion billion/NONE/ NONE - I am STILL rulezor!
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!
Yeah. That's pretty much covered.
This reminds me of that topic in which someone was arguing that "Terminators don't have Terminator armour, because it doesn't actually say so in their entry".
Umm.... wow. i was going to come up with something like that, but yours trumps mine.Originally Posted by Robizzle