Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If traitors are taken in a LatD army. Shouldn't they be able to also be able to take Demolishers, Conquerors, Vanquishers, and Exterminators? I know that the LatD army list doesn't say they can take them (unless there's a change I'm not aware of), but the IA books where made before the LatD lists came out. I know the tanks that I listed are suppose to be "rare" fluff wise. But a IG unit gone traitor are bound to be able to lay thier hands upon one of them. A Demolisher and Conqueror are the 2 I would take if I could.
Well considering that demolishers are very much a part of the imperial guard base army list, and where excluded. I would say the aswer would be a big fat NO (<--see it's big and fat.)
Don't forget that just because it's in the imprial armory doesn't meen you can take it without your opponents concent. Forgeworld rules are not official and are not usually kosher in tournements.
The only army that gets all of those tanks according to any GW published material is Steel Legion, and even that army isn't allowed in half of the tournements. Notice not even imperial guard can take them without opponent consent, why should LatD?
Of course any time you get your opponent's consent in a friendly game you're free to tweek the rules any way you like. So as long as you're not trying to pull a fast one on your opponent and explain what you whould like to do, and get their permission that's fine. . . But you better have a backup plan that involves stiking to the official rules.
Votewar MKV 2nd place. . .
Back from internet limbo, and glad to be here.
actually in Imperial armour it states that any imperial guard army can take the tanks (each tanks rules tell you which slot it occupies in the force organisation chart) not just steel legion.
Unfortunately GW will not let you take FW tanks in a tournament even in a guard army, LaTD armies are restricted to what tanks they can take much like the iron warriors can only take two extra imperial tanks. In a friendly matches i dont see why you could not field them (other players permission of course) as they are not overly powered uber tanks, each has a strength and weakness with a points cost representative of their ability so why should a PDF force not have access to tanks of the imperium.
I think putting restrictions on what you can and cant take on a book youve given your right arm for (then spent cash on super sexy models that deserve to see battles) is mildly irritating. Just ask permission from whoever you play and make sure you have plastic normal russ turrets on standby for the hopefully rare person who will refuse the challenge.
Last edited by Herr Flik; August 25th, 2006 at 13:43.
Don't touch that please, your primitive intellect wouldn't understand things with alloys and compositions and things with... molecular structures.
The Eye of terror codex only allows you to use Hellhound, Sentinels, Leman Russ Battle Tank (no demolisher), chimera and basilisk.
Ref : Eye of terror, p.42, top of the page.
Last edited by MindRaked; August 25th, 2006 at 14:15.
CHAOS Undiv.: won 14/22 games EC: 4/7 WE: 6/9 DG: 10/15, TS: 3/7 Orks : 13/20 SM NL : 1/6 TAU: 14 of 24 IG: 3/7
The reasoning, as far as I've been able to figure out, is that the traitors aren't skilled enough to get their hands on the crew of something like that, where as getting their hands on a lemun russ isn't all that hard (even orks can do it). Thinking that just because they have access to the most common tanks in the IG that they should have access to the rarest and hardest to get tanks in the IG makes no sense IMO.
But as has been said, if you get your opponent's permission, have a blast, but just realize what you're doing isn't by the rules.
Everything I have told you, even this, is a lie.
I have always thought of it in the efforts of staying hidden. Imagine an Imperial Guard Tank Lot. There would be 1000 Battle Tanks (most common tank out there). And then maybe 200 Demolishers and 200 Conquerer's. It would be easier to remove a Battle Tank from the lot then it would a Demolisher or Conquerer.
Inceed, the Demolisher isn't one of them, but then again there is not a word about any of the FW-stuff in the Guard Codex either...The Eye of terror codex only allows you to use Hellhound, Sentinels, Leman Russ Battle Tank (no demolisher), chimera and basilisk.
So, just like most people said if it's OK with your opponent, then it's OK.