Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm newish to 40K and therefore don't yet know enough about it to be able to play all armies with any hope of winning. That aside, I keep coming across the term 'hidden Powerfist', in differing lists.
So, my question is, is this something that is actually hidden, or is it just a term used by players? If it is not a term and can actually be bought as part of an army where do I find details on it and is it just limited to Powerfists? Can any army take this 'hidden' equipment?
P.S. Cheers LordLink, sig now whitewashed.
A quick tip for you, change the colour of your sig it hurts peoples eyes. I know I'm almost blind now.
Anyway a hidden power fist is where you have a power fist in a squad that can't be targeted. For example an aspiring champion in a 10 man unit can't be picked out in cc so his power fist keeps on hitting until all 10 marines die. Untouchable fists that dish out massive amounts of damage are reffered to as hidden power fists.
Of course some people also don't notice the fist and charge stuff like expensive lords into cc only to find it insta-killed.
Check out my Codex: Farmyard Animals here!
If anyone wants any kind of help writing fluff for any kind of GW army just ask.
Not much to add to Lordlink's post. But just to clarify, power weapons and other stuff can also be 'hidden'.
But, powerfists on MEQs (Marines/Chaos Marines) are specifically dangerous as they can can instantkill most ICs (independant Characters) and reach a strength were they can easily destroy vehicles.
Also.. MY EYES!! *bleed bleed*
Hmm, to keep it simple for you, Equipment can not be physically hidden. There is a specific rule called WYSIWYG (What you see is what you get) which states that all weapons and wargear must be represented on the model. Preversely enough it deosnt state you can only have what is represented on the model, i.e you could technically have an entire marine squad made from minis with powerfists, provided they also had what equipment they should have, however that doesnt happen.
WYSIWYG is formally enforced at official games, between friendlies it is common enough for opponents to point out any quirs that break WYSIWYG
The term "Hidden" as classically applied to Hidden Powerfists stems fro mthe fact that the Powerfist wielder can not be singled out for damage, whislt this is true for any special weapons within squads, it is particularly important for powerfists as they hit last in combat, so if they can be targeted it makes a lot of sense for your apponent to do so, killing the power fist weilder before he hits. This is why you should never give a powerfist to an indipendant character who can be targeted even when he joins a squad.
Everything you have been told is a lie!
I wished I had asked earlier instead of reading through the whole codex and not being able to find the answer.
Well at least it will also help others who didn't know what the term meant. Thanks again.
No worries, it gets asked quite a bit - along with what are MEQs and stuff. They're not in any rule books so it's all fair does. Seek and you will find, we're here to help etc etc.
Just don't be a dumbass and argue that you can take Daemonic Glaive and Flight/Speed and we'll all be just fine
From the Space marines tactica:
Using a hidden powerfist.
Denying your opponents hidden powerfist.
Both are good. I strongly urge reading.
Umm... wow. Both of those links got hacked. Intersting...
Originally Posted by Brett on Quidditch[ 1500pt. Chaos List, C&C! ]
-=W: 2 -D: 0- L: 3=-
Ok then just goto the Space Marine section and find their tactica. Both articles are in there.