chaos and nurgle-specific questions. - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    LO Zealot XenomarinesKiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Southington, CT, USA
    Age
    25
    Posts
    723
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    54 (x2)

    chaos and nurgle-specific questions.

    i have some questions about chaos and nurgle as you can tell by the title.

    so here i go:

    1. for the rule 'true grit', does it only work for a bolter? can i use it with a meltagun or plasma gun?

    2. the free asp. champ upgrade. does that mean i can have 2 asp. champs?

    3. how does the favoured rule work? i am confused by that.

    4. can i take imperial guard allies? that would be sweet. could not find a section on allies, at all.

    more to come as i run into problems. people with similar questions, feel free to post here, i will not think badly of you, or think you hijacked my thread. but i do want answers.

    Last edited by XenomarinesKiller; September 7th, 2006 at 23:44.


    Remember, if someone helps you with anything, REP THEM!


    Quote Originally Posted by 10th Lyran View Post
    "Wow, that's awesome, I wish my leg looked like that!"

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member JORMAGI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Age
    39
    Posts
    886
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    50 (x2)

    1) To the best of my knowladge it's only the bolters. . .

    2) No it means that the cost to upgrade one of your marines to an aspring champion is waved if the squad is the sacred number.

    3) See answer to 2, also favored # daemons come in easier.
    Votewar MKV 2nd place. . .

    Back from internet limbo, and glad to be here.

  4. #3
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    May I direct you, for question number one, to page 76 of the rulebook, under True Grit. It clearly states that it is a bolter-only special rule, and the only non-bolter case is the Grey Knights' ability to use True Grit with their storm bolters.

    As for number four... um, how do you get that? Why on earth would Chaos take Imperial Guard allies? For IG-like units, etc., I refer you to the Lost and the Damned army list, which can be found on the GW website in a .pdf download now.

  5. #4
    LO Zealot XenomarinesKiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Southington, CT, USA
    Age
    25
    Posts
    723
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    54 (x2)

    meh, i kinda figured that #'s 1 and 4 were a no, but i wanted to make sure.

    i still don't completely understand favored. is it all squads with sacred numbers?


    Remember, if someone helps you with anything, REP THEM!


    Quote Originally Posted by 10th Lyran View Post
    "Wow, that's awesome, I wish my leg looked like that!"

  6. #5
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by XenomarinesKiller
    meh, i kinda figured that #'s 1 and 4 were a no, but i wanted to make sure.

    i still don't completely understand favored. is it all squads with sacred numbers?
    "Favoured" squads are squads that have the appropriate Mark of Chaos with the appropriate number of models in it - either matching the sacred number, or matching a multiple of the sacred number.

    In an army such as Chaos Undivided, etc. this doesn't do anything - in a "cult" army, such as the World Eaters, it allows for the free Aspiring Champion and, in the case of Daemons, a better roll on their reserves for when you summon them.

  7. #6
    LO Zealot XenomarinesKiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Southington, CT, USA
    Age
    25
    Posts
    723
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    54 (x2)

    ok, but that is only in an army like death guard, with only and all marks of nurgle, right? i am pretty sure that is what the codex is saying, as it is in the DG section only. clarification is necessary for a dunce such as myself.


    Remember, if someone helps you with anything, REP THEM!


    Quote Originally Posted by 10th Lyran View Post
    "Wow, that's awesome, I wish my leg looked like that!"

  8. #7
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by XenomarinesKiller
    ok, but that is only in an army like death guard, with only and all marks of nurgle, right? i am pretty sure that is what the codex is saying, as it is in the DG section only. clarification is necessary for a dunce such as myself.
    Yes - they are still "favoured" in other armies as appropriate, etc. but they get no benefits for being favoured. They only gain the benefits in a "cult" army - Death Guard, World Eaters, Thousand Sons, or Emperor's Children, with the appropriate Sacred Number.

  9. #8
    LO Zealot XenomarinesKiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Southington, CT, USA
    Age
    25
    Posts
    723
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    54 (x2)

    ok, thank you for that.

    but on the topic of allies, would it be against the rules for you to tell me the allies that chaos can take, if any, or just on what page of the codex?


    Remember, if someone helps you with anything, REP THEM!


    Quote Originally Posted by 10th Lyran View Post
    "Wow, that's awesome, I wish my leg looked like that!"

  10. #9
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by XenomarinesKiller
    ok, thank you for that.

    but on the topic of allies, would it be against the rules for you to tell me the allies that chaos can take, if any, or just on what page of the codex?
    The only allies available to Chaos are the Lost and the Damned - or vice versa, rather.

    Rules for the Lost and the Damned may be found here:

    Click me!

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Age
    28
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Chaos may take imperial guard, "Traitor Guard", i remember in a White Dwarf that theu had a battle report with them in it, about issue 290 i think, big battle report for eye of terror campaign. So for the guard as allies it can be a yes, im just not sure of the full rules for them.
    Pain is an Illusion of the senses, Fear is an Illusion of the Mind!!

    W/L/D
    Iron Warriors
    6-1-2

    Dark Angels
    2-2-3

    Space Wolves
    3-0-0

    Dark Eldar
    3-2-4

    IG killteam
    6-0-1

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts