Mixing Marks and Morale - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Son of LO LordLink's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Australian. Capital. Territory
    Age
    26
    Posts
    3,475
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    228 (x8)

    Question: If an unmarked lord joins a marked (lets say MoCU) unit what happens with morale? I'm pretty sure the whole squad loses fearlessness but what about MoCU?

    Check out my Codex: Farmyard Animals here!

    If anyone wants any kind of help writing fluff for any kind of GW army just ask.

    Fluffmaster
    Anzac Clan

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by LordLink View Post
    Question: If an unmarked lord joins a marked (lets say MoCU) unit what happens with morale? I'm pretty sure the whole squad loses fearlessness but what about MoCU?
    I would think that, since the squad is technically using the Lord's leadership, then the Mark wouldn't apply to them. So, if they fail the morale check, there's no re-roll, since the Lord doesn't get the re-roll.

  4. #3
    Son of LO LordLink's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Australian. Capital. Territory
    Age
    26
    Posts
    3,475
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    228 (x8)

    But what if they don't choose to use his Ld?
    All my marines are Ld10 anyway.
    Check out my Codex: Farmyard Animals here!

    If anyone wants any kind of help writing fluff for any kind of GW army just ask.

    Fluffmaster
    Anzac Clan

  5. #4
    Sadomachiatto Karmoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt, Germany
    Posts
    7,076
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    790 (x8)

    Chaos codex, Page 38.
    To benefit from the mark, all members of the units must have it.

    I was unaware that an unmarked Lord could join a marked unit. Is this legal?
    LO Rules

    Quote Originally Posted by Anonymous
    Anyone who's as loyal and motivated to doing what they love as you are is respectable in my book
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyric
    I'm taking leave of my senses and shall be out of my mind until further notice.

  6. #5
    Son of LO LordLink's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Australian. Capital. Territory
    Age
    26
    Posts
    3,475
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    228 (x8)

    MoK can't join other marks and unkmarked. That's a special restriction for them though.
    So If I have an unmarked Lord and he joins some Thousand Sons they all lose their extra wound??? Noise Marines lose their weapons???????????

    edit: nevermind I actually went and read the codex, the above sentence only applies to MoCU. Please ignore my previous statement.
    Last edited by LordLink; October 18th, 2006 at 12:45.
    Check out my Codex: Farmyard Animals here!

    If anyone wants any kind of help writing fluff for any kind of GW army just ask.

    Fluffmaster
    Anzac Clan

  7. #6
    Sadomachiatto Karmoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt, Germany
    Posts
    7,076
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    790 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by LordLink View Post
    edit: nevermind I actually went and read the codex, the above sentence only applies to MoCU. Please ignore my previous statement.
    I thought members of a unit all have to have the same mark, or no mark at all.
    To this end, it's impossible for a lord with out MOCU to lead a MoCU squad. He's still 'part of the unit'
    LO Rules

    Quote Originally Posted by Anonymous
    Anyone who's as loyal and motivated to doing what they love as you are is respectable in my book
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyric
    I'm taking leave of my senses and shall be out of my mind until further notice.

  8. #7
    Son of LO LordLink's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Australian. Capital. Territory
    Age
    26
    Posts
    3,475
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    228 (x8)

    nonono. A lord with a chosen retinue must have same mark as they are all 1 unit. An attached unmarked lord and say some Plague Marines can still join up. They are 2 different units.

    The purpose of that line is so that you don't say "ok I have a unit of khorne berserkers but I want a sorcerer so the aspiring champion is buying MoT from the armoury (yes its in there).
    Check out my Codex: Farmyard Animals here!

    If anyone wants any kind of help writing fluff for any kind of GW army just ask.

    Fluffmaster
    Anzac Clan

  9. #8
    Sadomachiatto Karmoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt, Germany
    Posts
    7,076
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    790 (x8)

    Most unfluffy. I can't say I approve.

    But none the less, if they're the rules, then they're the rules. :hmm:
    LO Rules

    Quote Originally Posted by Anonymous
    Anyone who's as loyal and motivated to doing what they love as you are is respectable in my book
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyric
    I'm taking leave of my senses and shall be out of my mind until further notice.

  10. #9
    Now with STFU flames! Caluin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Age
    36
    Posts
    5,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    708 (x8)

    Pulled out of the FAQ thread. Too much discussion.

    In any case, for those who are wondering the answer to the original question - the IC becomes Fearless, meaning the MoCU is worthless.


  11. #10
    KITTENS GIVE MORBO GAS! theyak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    3,922
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    385 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Caluin View Post
    Pulled out of the FAQ thread. Too much discussion.

    In any case, for those who are wondering the answer to the original question - the IC becomes Fearless, meaning the MoCU is worthless.
    Pg 12 of the Chaos codex: Special rules.
    Marks of Chaos

    "* Members of a unit must all have the same Mark or none at all" Chambers et al Games Workshop 2002.

    Since, when a IC joins a unit it becomes ONE UNIT.
    Having an IC that joins a unit with a different mark is a no-no.
    So, there is no question of what happens with the morale. It just cannot happen.
    W/D/L Eleventy trillion billion/NONE/ NONE - I am STILL rulezor!
    WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts