Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I had a question which has been biting at me lately, and I hoped LO could shed some light.
In regards to the Aspiring Champion entry under Chaos Marine Bikes, I noticed how cheap they were compared to the standard rider. Which got me thinking, I flipped back to the Wargear section of the codex and found that by purchasing a bike would put him one point below the standard Biker, a pattern throughout the book.
The question is:
Do I have to purchase the bike upgrade as I purchase the Aspiring Champion in order to use him?
Another example would be Daemonic Flight and Raptors.
Thank you for your time.
I'm a little confused about your question but I'll do my best to answer it.
When you take AC's, you first purchase all the models in the squad. Then, you upgrade one of the models to the AC by adding the amount of points it costs which it will say in the unit entry.
So, if you take a squad of 4 bikes, you pay the pts/model for each of the 4 bikes. Then, to upgrade one of them to an AC you add the AC upgrade point cost which is listed in the same entry. He comes with everything a normal biker would come with, but he gets added benefits, such as being able to select things from the armory, like a powerfist. (at least this is how Iv'e always done it).
So, short and simple:No, he comes with the bike. The point cost of the AC would be the Chaos Biker cost + the Aspiring Champion cost.Do I have to purchase the bike upgrade as I purchase the Aspiring Champion in order to use him?
You would go through the same steps with any other squad adding a AC. Hopefully that was clear...
I'm not sure if I answered your question. Sorry, if I didn't, or misinterpreted your post.
Last edited by brushman; November 17th, 2006 at 04:45.
When you pay the small + to points you aren't getting an aspiring champion, you are turning a model that you have already paid for into an aspiring champion. It seems like you are trying to pay the upgrade cost without paying for the model itself, which is a big no no.
Wow, very quick responses. This clears alot up. Luckily, this would have been my first time to use ACs, so I haven't broken any rules. Thank you, this really clears it up!
incidentally ninja, if you add the cost of a basic aspiring champion to a wargear bike, you end up with the same cost as the fast attack option.
For the asp champ cost, you can work it out from the chosen entry or take it from LaTD.
Anytime Silent-Ninja. The Chaos codex is a tricky one, so you got to be careful and read it thoroughly. Any other questions, feel free to ask, and we'll be happy to answer.
World Bearers versus World Eaters, the battle of the service industry...tonight at Eleven.
"Long live the Emperor!"
- a patient Chaos God
On a side note though: The bike doesn't take away from his wargear allottment, so if it did cost a bit extra, that would be one of the reasons.
Everything I have told you, even this, is a lie.