Defilers in thousand sons - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Defilers in thousand sons

I am just starting out collecting Thousand sons and i am having difficulty figuring out the best Heavy Support choices available.

The people at the club i go to are enthusiastic about defilers and love them.
    Now i'm not so sure, because on forums people say there are better choices out there and that they are too costly (pointswise). People have also complained about their fragile nature.

I still think they can be amazing through the brute force of the Battle Cannon. What is also good about Defilers, i think is if some small elite unit reaches relatively close to your lines, you can wipe them out in close combat even though the defiler has medicore stats.

So i was thinking if anyone has any opinions on Defilers and how to kit them out if you were using them, becausing i am deeply struggling with this decision.

2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

ReputationReputation
    50 (x2)

Ok, this is how I see it: Defilers are nice, they're very much worth the points as long as you build them conservitivly. I reccomend base defiler + 1 upgrade: either indirect fire, OR mutated hull.

BUT you need to ask yourself if they fit the roll that you need them to in your army. Battlecannons are best when firing at MEQ's where they mangle easily the expensive marines, or when firing into large formations of troops where even a scatter will likely kill a lot of guys anyway (and best of all combining the two)