Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So I was going through the bits box the other day and found 4 unused havoc launchers and the wheels in my head started turning and brought up this question: can you mount multiple havoc launchers on a vehicle? I didnt see anywhere in the codexes or rule books that said you couldn't, but I figured it might be a rule that kind of goes without saying.
Since I like to heavily mod models and come up with new and strange stuff the image of a rhino with a trio of launchers on it popped in. Anyone know if this is legal?
Well, I can't find anywhere in the codex where it says it s illegal so I guess go for it! But I would suggest putting it on a pred or raider as a rhino isnt going to be shooting much as you always want those things moving also a raider and pred are tougher so it would be better to spend that amount of points on them instead of a rhino.
Agreed. I'm no weird-boy-ork-nob-farseer-rule-lawyer-synapse-librarian or anything, but I can't see it being illegal.
The big question, of course, is WHY?
For the cost, it really really itsn't worth it unless your opponent takes nothing but grots/gaunts.
It does stupilate something about combi bolters though - which is annoying as they're infinitely more usefull being cheaper and able to upgrade them to metla guns.
I'd rather spend the points on something else.
Well, there's a rule that forbids you to put more that one combi-bolter onto your vehicle, but no such rule for any other chaos vehicle upgrade. At least I can't find it.
Does this mean we can stuck multiple Daemonic Runes or Mutated Hulls?
However, there's that rule that forbids taking the same wargear twice? Does anyone remember its location so I could check the wording?
Page 16 in the chaos codex, little box in the left hand corner, look under :limits: thats the first thing i checked but it doesnt say anything about vehicles
I had thought this was covered in the FAQ, but I can't seem to find it. It's also not mentioned anywhere in the Codex. But I know I've read somewhere that you couldn't 'double up' on Vehicle Upgrades. Possibly on the GW boards that are now no longer existent.
Seems that for the time being that it's legal enough. Not something I would ever try in a tournament, however.
I think i actually posted this identical post a couple months ago as i liked the look of dual havoc launchers on my dreadnaught. Consensus was that its not allowed as you can't take the same upgrade twice.
I would be careful because technically marine players could take multiple hunter killer missiles. Imagine a landraider sitting back getting an extra krak missile shot every turn for a small points investment.
40K-Beakies(9-14-4),Guard(4-7-2),Orks(34-12-11). FANTASY-Dwarves(15-6-7),Beasts (14-14-1), Skaven (17-17-10) DoC (6-1-2). CYGNAR (28-15-1)
W/D/L Eleventy trillion billion/NONE/ NONE - I am STILL rulezor!
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!
There we go, an experienced opinion.
If you want a fun bling Rhino, definitely try upgrading the combi bolter to a combi melta. And watch the fun as it pops something 4 times it's cost.
Out of interest..can you upgrade the combi bolter it comes with?