Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Are Siren HQs generally considered over the top in every game? I was kind of thinking of taking one in my combat patrol tournament tomorrow... I think that it would be very interesting. Is it lame?
It depends who you're facing. I wouldn't complain.
And taking the required amount of minor psychic power rolls (like 5 or 6) is very costly, and in a game against an army like Tyranids or Orks, Siren may well be worth squat.
Even a massed charge of Imperial Guardsmen could spell a problem, because once your Lieutenant is stuck in he can get outnumbered a beaten to a pulp without too much trouble as he won't have Essence or Daemonic Armour.
... only triumph could turn pooing his pants into a good thing..
In chaos we have two major schools of Cheese:
1. Iron warriors with 4 heavy support slots and 9 obliterators
2. Siren Statured Lord Daemon Bomb.
How much skill does it take to roll a 3 on 5d6? Not that Grey Knight players will ever complain about it though.
Of course, that usually sparks a big huge arguement on the subject, because obviously they're infaliable and their super-powers can never be thwarted in any fashion.
But I digress.
In a Combat Patrol game, I'd simply have to ask - "Why?"
You can't Stature him, so you can always fall back upon your IC status to protect you. There's not going to be a whole lot of firepower on the board, so it's not like you're going to be in dire threat of losing him right away. Shouldn't be using daemons in a CP game, so Daemon Bomb is out.
So, again - Why?
It might be a little off-topic, but where can the Siren rules be found? Any publications anyone knows about?
I agree on the "why?" question.
I would, however, deffinately argue the use of Aegis. The requirement for targeting is only for the major Psychic Powers. Minor power just plain have no effect at all. Period. No restrictions on how or under what circumstances they lose thier effects on the GKs. It just doesn't work at all. so the effect of not being able to shoot or assault the psyker? Ignored.
Likewise for the Sisters of Battle And it's a little more clear in that codex since they're split into seperate paragraphs. The SoB Shield of Faith nullifies major powers a bit differently, but they also require the girls be in the area of effect or be targeted for those. The wording on minor powers is still the same, albiet with the additional clarification that not even friendly minor powers work.
And there's always the chance they thought to bring a psychic hood. Though in a combat patrol, I'd never spend the points on one.