Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm slightly confused on the issue of marks, independent characters, and retinues. It is probably really obvious but I can't seem to find a specific passage that says it is acceptable or unacceptable. My question basically is, can an IC join a group that has a different mark as long as they aren't ancient enemies? If so, does this mean that I can have a nurgle lord with mass mutation sorcerer abilities and have a khorne marked retinue of chosen? It doesn't seem right to me... but it sure sounds like fun.
Just thought I'd check with the experts to see if it was legal, because as I said I have my doubts.
Ah thank you very much for the page number. Next question... what unit counts as regular troops and not elite if you have two differently marked HQs? Does the Lord take precedence?
And if I have MoCU HQ with say MoN troops, then do they all lose fearlesness or does the IC get it? It says in rulebook that the units special abilities are not conferred to IC and vice versa, and with Fearless any character joining that squad will gain the ability. Does this mean MoCU isn't worth purchasing, or is there some way to get the MoCU ability to take effect over fearless?
Only unmarked units, units with MOCU, and units with the same mark as your leader count as troops. Any CSM unit with another mark becomes elite. The order is the chaos lord, highest point LT, then greater demon.
Check pg. 74 of the rulebook. It will tell you which abilites transfer over, which are lost, and which the unit keeps, but the character cant use.
Another squad will almost always benefit you more than a few upgrades to all squads. Remember: Troops before Toys.