Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Kind of starting out at the hobby -- I've got a large Witch Hunters army that I've been casually painting for months, but I've never found the time to actually play. Now that I'm actually looking at putting the army on the table, I've come across a rules question that either wasn't really addressed in the rulebook or else slipped past me somehow. Thought I'd stop by here and see if anyone can give me the answer.
It's pretty straightforward, actually. In the Witch Hunters Codex, on page 25, it talks about using allied Space Marines or inducted Imperial Guards, but it also talks about using the Witch Hunters as "allies" in other armies -- namely Space Marines, Imperial Guard, or Daemonhunters. It says the same thing in the Daemonhunters Codex -- that Daemonhunters units can be used as "allies" in other armies, to a limited degree (0-1 HQ, 0-1 Elite, 0-2 Troops, 0-1 Fast Attack).
So does this mean that within the above force structure guidelines I could, say, pretty freely build a joint Witch Hunters / Daemonhunters army? Grey Knights fighting alongside Sisters of Battle? Or is there something I'm missing?
This may seem obvious, but I'm confused as to why they would go to the trouble of differentiating the Allied Space Marines and the Inducted Imperial Guard and then including the "allies" sidebar as well with what seems to be repeated info. Is there a special meaning of "allies" that's eluding me here?
Any help would be awesome. Thanks!
Mmmk, if your "parent army" is Witch Hunters, you can use anything you want out of the Witch Hunter's Codex. Once you have an HQ and two troops choices, you can then choose to start taking Imperial Guard or Allied SM (if you have no sisters.) *BUT* you can only use those specific IG or SM units that are allowed on p26.
On the other hand if your "parent army" is Space Marines, you can use anything you want out of Codex: Space Marines. Once you have an HQ and two troops choices from CM, you can take any Witch Hunters units you want, but only up to the limit of 1 HQ 1 Elite etc.
Iterate as appropriate.
Edit to actually answer your question: Yes, you can combine WH and DH. You just have to choose one to be the 'parent' and the other is limited to the number of slots in the allied section. Which at the cost of DH units, is probably all the slots you could want!
Last edited by InquisitorAffe; July 24th, 2007 at 04:56.
As it stands, this is how the allies system works.
Parent army means which army fulfilled the 1 HQ and two Troops choice requirement.
1. Witch Hunters as the parent army:
Please note, that Daemonhunters may always be added to any combination, within the Force Organization chart.
- Imperial Guard, following the rules on page twenty six.
- Space Marines, only from Codex: Space Marines, so long as no models with the Adepta Sororitas rule is included, and following the rules on page twenty six
2. WitchHunters as allies may be included with:
Note further that Daemonhunters allies can be added to any parent army within:
- Imperial Guard
- Space Marines, including all chapters. Sisters may be added to a parent space marines army
0-1 Allied HQ
0-1 Allied Elite
0-1 Fast Attack
Heavy support choices may not be taken.
That's the high and low of it.
Feel free to ask any further questions.
Awesome -- not only informative, but precisely the answer I was hoping for, too! Thanks!
Glad to be of service.
And, welcome to Librarium Online, friend. Please read through our rules, if you haven't already.
Heh, thanks, and will do. Have I broken one already? *grin*