Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
With the new rules being published in WD for BA, I have been wondering a few things about combat squads. If I were to field a ten man tactical squad, and purchase them a rhino, could I declare them spliting up into combat squads, but deploying them as one unit in the rhino? Then when the rhino gets across the board, them jump out and then go their seperate ways to do what ever. It seems to me, that they could do this, becaudse the rhino was boought for the whole squad not just half of it.
That brings me to question 2, with combat squads, does spliting them in to two squads in the deployment count as one deployment , or two seperate deployments?
Lastly, with combat squads, can a ten man squad buy a razorback, then split up into two five mans, with CC going into the razorback, and Long range hanging back killin from afar?
-Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit Of All Who Threaten It-
-It is better to die on your feet than to live on your knees-
I'd say no - the combat squad rule declares that the 5-man squads count as separate units and you can't mount two separate units in the same transport (not even land riders).
I have another question though; can you take a razorback to a 10-man squad and then split the squad? In the BA rules I can't see anything that says you can not...
I posted a similar question in another forum regarding this same question as neither the new BA codex or DA codex seems to indicate there is any restiction on transport choices relative to squad size. All the responses indicated that was the general interpretation: a squad size of 10 marines did not seem to remove the razorback from the list of transport options. Depending on how competitively oriented someone is, this could be used to effectively have 2 heavy weapons in a single troops choice while still having the other 5 man (assuming you use the combat squads option) squad roam the battlefield with vet sgt and melta/flamer on foot.I have another question though; can you take a razorback to a 10-man squad and then split the squad? In the BA rules I can't see anything that says you can not...
As far as the original question, I believe that because you choose to separate the squad into two separate scoring units then I think Kristofer is correct, you cannot have two different squads embark in the same transport at the same time.
I would be curious to know however if you must choose one of the two combat squads from a single FOC choice to 'own' the transport or if you are free to transport them one scoring unit at a time, so long as only one or the other is inside at a given time.
Games Workshop is the Wal-Mart of hobby products, except for the low prices. The lack of respect and profit mongering is there in spades.
Yes you can take a Razorback as a transport for a ten man squads in the new codecies, furthermore, if you use the combat squad rules and deploy two squads of five instead of one then both of those squads can use the vehicle during the battle, but not in the same time.
"One must do violence to the object of one's desire; when it surrenders, the pleasure is greater."
Marquis De Sade
Mika is correct. Since the transport is dedicated to the squad - either Combat Squad may use it. But because they are treated as seperate units and only one unit may occupy a transport at any one time, they may not use it at the same time.
A 10-man squad may also select a Razorback. However, squads which must deploy from reserve cannot be split into Combat Squads and units with transports will deploy from reserve in certain scenarios. In those instances, the squad cannot use a Razorback until they have suffered at least four casualties.