Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I come before thee with a Problem. One I believe has not been explored (That I'm aware of).
I was recently making up a massive Black Templar list, with apocolypse in mind. I decided to create a Command Squad with High Marshal Helbrecht, tooled up with all the bells and whistles.
I also decided that I wanted to attach Grimaldus and his Cenobytes to the squad, allowing for some much-needed Movement and Attack boosts.
However, I ran into a contradiction in the rules:
When Helbrecht takes a Command Squad, all members MUST take Furious Charge. This itself is not a problem. Heres what is:
Grimaldus is a Chaplain, and as such, can take Cenobyte Servitors. Very useful things they are. However, I ran into this little pain-in-the-ass in the Cenobyte's rules:
"A Chaplain with Cenobyte Servitors and any squad he is attached to may not choose any Veteran Skills."
Hmm? Does this mean that Grimaldus, or any Chaplain that has Cenobytes, cannot join Helbrecht as he breaks faces? There is no option for Helbrecht NOT to take Furious Charge, and I don't wanna use a Footslogging Chaplain without also taking Cenobytes.
What do you guys think? Both Rules contradict eachother. One CANT take skills, the other MUST. Help me!!!
Perhaps they didn't want those two characters to be able to be in the same squad as each other. On the other hand, the wording doesn't prevent him from joining the unit. And I think Furious charge is a skill that is not lost when other models join.
Of course, I trust your not actually excepting this squad to do that well...
If it specifically says may not choose any Veteran skills, I'd say it's fine, since they're not really choosing it. It's being forced upon them by Helbrecht's special rule.
Otherwise, a liberal and definitely not RAW compromise would be to simple discount the Cenobytes when making charge rolls. So, to just assume every member of the squad except the Cenobytes may take advantage of Furious Charge.
The above poster = Totally a member of the Fluff Masters Clan. Click here for fluff pwnage.
Come, sons of LO! Kneel before Poodle!
Mr_Wayne: "Some people believe that the World Eaters do not field any ranged weaponry. Those people often die at a distance."
Hmm. I had a feeling this was going to be one of those controversial issues.
On one hand we have something that says the squad MUST take the skill. On the other we have, Chappie and Co. (Including Squad he is attached to) CANNOT take skills. If I was going to play this (Which would be inneffective anyway. Too many eggs in one basket), I'd go with Lord Poodle's way of doing things. Everyone can charge except the Half-Dead walking Relics.