A small question about Iron Discipline - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member Governor-Militant Vespa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Age
    28
    Posts
    142
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    A small question about Iron Discipline

    Hey all Guardsmen fans, I'm building my new army force and looking at doctrines, so I have one quick question for you guys. The doctrine Iron Discipline says its in effect when a unit that benefits from the leadership of an officer equipped with it. As such, does that mean if I give a JO officer Iron Discipline, the whole platoon will benefit from it? This is just a little incongruity I saw in the way it was written, any help clearing the matter would be immensely helpful (since I got in a tussle with many a player about it ).

    What do Khorne Berzerkers say to Necrons after chopping some of their bits off? "BLOOD FOR... Eh? Come on! You just take the fun out of it... Scream! Yell! Awww... not even a trace of guts..." *sniffles and kicks dirt*

    "You can go far with a smile. You can go even further with a smile and a gun"

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Dawn Under Heaven Triumph Of Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    MIA
    Age
    26
    Posts
    2,971
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    -170 (x0)

    Quote Originally Posted by Governor-Militant Vespa View Post
    Hey all Guardsmen fans, I'm building my new army force and looking at doctrines, so I have one quick question for you guys. The doctrine Iron Discipline says its in effect when a unit that benefits from the leadership of an officer equipped with it. As such, does that mean if I give a JO officer Iron Discipline, the whole platoon will benefit from it? This is just a little incongruity I saw in the way it was written, any help clearing the matter would be immensely helpful (since I got in a tussle with many a player about it ).
    The Officer's unit himself, and any unit using his leadership value through the Leadership special rule benefits from Iron Discipline.

    Iron Discipline doesn't work through a Vox Caster though.


    Karmoon
    ... only triumph could turn pooing his pants into a good thing..

  4. #3
    Member Governor-Militant Vespa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Age
    28
    Posts
    142
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    Ah excellent that's what I thought, many thanks!

    So if I recap, if a JO has Iron Discipline, his own platoon benefits and period. If my HSO has Iron Discipline, then his command platoon will benefit and so on and so forth...
    What do Khorne Berzerkers say to Necrons after chopping some of their bits off? "BLOOD FOR... Eh? Come on! You just take the fun out of it... Scream! Yell! Awww... not even a trace of guts..." *sniffles and kicks dirt*

    "You can go far with a smile. You can go even further with a smile and a gun"

  5. #4
    Dawn Under Heaven Triumph Of Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    MIA
    Age
    26
    Posts
    2,971
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    -170 (x0)

    Quote Originally Posted by Governor-Militant Vespa View Post
    Ah excellent that's what I thought, many thanks!

    So if I recap, if a JO has Iron Discipline, his own platoon benefits and period. If my HSO has Iron Discipline, then his command platoon will benefit and so on and so forth...
    It's not restricted to the FOC unit selection. Any unit hanging around the officer that can normally take advantage of the Leadership special rule can use their leadership value and hence Iron Discipline. So Infantry Squads may use the HQ officer's leadership value if they're close enough, even if the Platoon Officer is also in range.


    Karmoon
    ... only triumph could turn pooing his pants into a good thing..

  6. #5
    Member Governor-Militant Vespa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Age
    28
    Posts
    142
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    Yeah, I'll re-read my 'dex. I was a little dense this morning, not enough cafeine lol. Thanks again.
    What do Khorne Berzerkers say to Necrons after chopping some of their bits off? "BLOOD FOR... Eh? Come on! You just take the fun out of it... Scream! Yell! Awww... not even a trace of guts..." *sniffles and kicks dirt*

    "You can go far with a smile. You can go even further with a smile and a gun"

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts