Librarium Online Forums banner

Need assistance with my DA

548 views 3 replies 4 participants last post by  Norngahl 
#1 ·
Hi guys,

I am new to the hobby, and I've chosen to go with Dark Angels as my army, not in small part due to my love of terminators. I would, however, like to get some input from long time players on the feasability of some army variants:

Everything looks good on paper, but: How does a deathwing army do? and ravenwing? vs a more standard 3rd company one?

Anyone have a good example of a doublewing army for ~1k points?

I appreciate the input, and if it matters, i'll be playing against: nids, necrons, tau, IG, chaos, sisters, and an orc here or there.

thanks in advance.

Mastrus

#2 ·
Quite the hefty request, man. Let's see.

Deathwing Armies tend to be lacking in numbers. If played incorrectly, they tend to get swamped by massed firepower (such as Imperial Guard) or massed bodies (Tyranids). They're a largely tactical force, and require a bit of finesse to pull off.

Ravenwing tends to be in the same boat as the Deathwing, low numbers of expensive models. I'm not trying to dissuade you from using either wing, but they're not really for beginners.

I suggest a Doublewing army, their special rules work so well together that it can be made into a surgical strike force with some relative ease. Using the bikes to hone in the Terminators where you like is invaluable, especially with the massed numbers armies, where one bad scatter means Dead Terminators.

The best approach to an 1000pt Doublewing army would be to include at least two squads of Terminators and one or two bike squads, plus the HQs and extraneous bits. I can get back to you with an 1000pt list later on.

Battle Company, plays altogether differently. They're a very tactical force, needing a subtle hand to play effectively. While not necessary, the Combat Squads rule really aids you in this facet, as the added numbers of targets makes the work on your opponent that much more difficult.