Inq. Stormtroopers native or count as allies? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Senior Member daisho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    321
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    24 (x1)

    Inq. Stormtroopers native or count as allies?

    Hi, I'm new to Warhammer 40k and want to collect models I can actually use first.
    I plan to play a DH Army (and not as allies), now I'm somehow confused about which units I can use.

    I know that I'm not allowed to use any Grey Knights with Daemonhosts. Well, then no Daemonhosts...
    Can I use Assassins from the OAO and/or Death Cult Assassins (I know I have to use an Inquisitor for that) without other limitations?
    Can I use Inquisitorial Stormtroopers without limitations? (Do they count as allies/IIG or are they native Daemonhunters?)
    Can I use Inquisitorial Stormtroopers as compulsive selection?

    e.g.
    Inquisitor Lord w/ Henchmen as HQ
    2x Inquisitorial Stormtroopers as Troops

    and xyz as "Optional" selections...


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Librarian from Hell Andusciassus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Ronneby (Sweden)
    Age
    43
    Posts
    4,133
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    746 (x8)

    Inquisitor Lord w/ Henchmen as HQ
    2x Inquisitorial Stormtroopers as Troops
    yes

  4. #3
    Part time Pirate Lord Lucias's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,148
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    73 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by daisho View Post

    Inquisitor Lord w/ Henchmen as HQ
    2x Inquisitorial Stormtroopers as Troops

    and xyz as "Optional" selections...
    Yes but not compulsary...

    So it could be

    Inquisitor w/ Henchmen as HQ
    2x GreyKnights as Troops

    I think you already knew this... but just in case

  5. #4
    Junior Member JEFF4i's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    24
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Yep, that would work.

    Assassins are awesome too.

  6. #5
    Senior Member daisho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    321
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    24 (x1)

    Aaah crap. So they are not native Daemon Hunters, so if I use Inquisitorial Stormtroopers I can't have any SM allies and I have to take standard Greyknights (which I wanted to avoid because they are not worth it (for not being a fast attack option) imho)

    I still can't decide which allies to use

    HQ: Inquisitor Lord & Henchmen
    Troops: ? Grey Knights/Justicar with 2 Psycannons, any other choices!?

    I like the look of the future-tech tanks of SM units (Predator, veteran cybot8X, ...) but Inq. Stormtroopers are very nice and Leman Russ is awsome but I don't like the look of that tank. (too much WW1 or WW2-like imo)
    I think I will collect both ... which means 3 armies lol ;?


    expensive hobby

  7. #6
    Part time Pirate Lord Lucias's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,148
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    73 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by daisho View Post
    Aaah crap. So they are not native Daemon Hunters, so if I use Inquisitorial Stormtroopers I can't have any SM allies and I have to take standard Greyknights (which I wanted to avoid because they are not worth it (for not being a fast attack option) imho)

    I still can't decide which allies to use

    HQ: Inquisitor Lord & Henchmen
    Troops: ? Grey Knights/Justicar with 2 Psycannons, any other choices!?

    I like the look of the future-tech tanks of SM units (Predator, veteran cybot8X, ...) but Inq. Stormtroopers are very nice and Leman Russ is awsome but I don't like the look of that tank. (too much WW1 or WW2-like imo)
    I think I will collect both ... which means 3 armies lol ;?


    expensive hobby
    OKay so you can have Inquisitorial Stormtroopers and Spacemarines in the same army.

    You underestimate the GK's.

    Read your codex. Also look at megalomaniacs post on allies. (Member Created FAQ - Deamonhunters)

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    I think a fog of confusion may have settled over this topic. You can have both IST's (Inquisitorial Stormtroopers) and Spacemarines in the same army. ISTS's are a standard Daemonhunter troop choice and can be taken whether you are playing a solely Daemonhunter list both, puritan and radical, as well with inducted Imperial Guard or Spacemarines.

    other related issues:

    - If you induct Spacemarines you may not use Grey Knights

    - Cannot induct both Spacemarines and Imperial Guard. Furthermore should you induct them you must still ensure that your mandatory choices (HQ + 2 Troop) come from the daemonhunter codex list

    - If you use daemonhosts you cannot use Grey Knights or induct Spacemarines

    - To use Grey Knight heavy armour (Dreads + Landraider varients) need to include a Grey Knight hero (BC or GM) in your army

    - To use assassins, both elite varients and DC, or daemonhosts need to include a Inquisitor or Inquisitor Lord in your army

    I hope this helps clear things up

  9. #8
    Senior Member Xilconic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Age
    31
    Posts
    534
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    31 (x2)

    Inquisitor Cronus did sum it up good well.
    You should really read your codex a bit better
    Tyranids Win [31]/ Draw [0]/Lost [0]
    Daemon Hunters Win [17]/ Draw [2]/ Lost [1]
    http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...t&uniqueid=232

  10. #9
    Part time Pirate Lord Lucias's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,148
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    73 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by Inquisitor Cronus View Post
    [COLOR=#333333][SIZE=2]- If you use daemonhosts you cannot use Grey Knights or induct Spacemarines
    This is true for GreyKnights (pg.24), but where does it say that for Space Marines?

  11. #10
    Librarian from Hell Andusciassus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Ronneby (Sweden)
    Age
    43
    Posts
    4,133
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    746 (x8)

    The Relictors are one SpaceMarine chapter well known for working with radical Inquisitors (using Daemon Hosts), so you are free to ally with SM, but cannot include any GreyKnights.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts