Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
with the righteous zeal move i dont really understand it can you please explain
In simple terms, if you lose a single guy in the opponents shooting phase. You take a leadership check and if you pass you can move up to D6 towards the closest enemy unit.
However there are a couple of things that can effect this for example:
If the squad is led by a chaplain you automatically pass your moral check and can move up to D6 towards any visible enemy unit. If you take Cenobyte Servitors, which you can take up to 3, for each Cenobyte you move an additional inch. So if you have 3 Cenobytes your chappy lead squad can move up to D6 + 3 towards the closest enemy unit.
The move does not effect your shooting in the next round, so if you RZ with a Las/Plas squad the Lascannon guy can still fire.
You can charge an enemy unit if you so wish with RZ, as I read the rules, if your RZ takes you into assault with an enemy that is in cover everyone attacks at normal initiative but of course you do not get an extra attack in the assault phase.
Assault Marines do not get RZ, however Terminators, Sword Brothern and Crusader squads do.
There is much debate about this but if you read the book as it is written RZ works exactly like a massacre roll, therefore you can move "Up to" D6 which means you do not have to move if you do not want to. After all Black Templars are Zealous not stupid.
I am sure that I am missing something, but that is the nuts and bolts of Black Templar RZ.
Might I add a footnote. Should the RZ D6 roll be a cruddy 1 or 2, make sure at least one of the marines in the squad has a Crusader seal. It allows you to re-roll RZ.
There is some serious debate going on at my end of the world, as one side has it that RZ takes place immediately after taking casualties during the opponent's turn. The other has it that RZ only takes place after all the shooting is done, before assault. Questions questions...
The Leadership check is a twin edged sword. If you pass the test, zelous crusaders surge forward to get closer. But if you fail, you fallback, but of course you can re-group and march forward again next turn. SO it's either you get closer to the assault or you fallback to the relative safety.
Hmmm, you got a point. I'm gonna haveto brief all the younger players at my local store, as they are still pretty vague about this. Thanks for the clarification Helbrecht.
thanx for that i sorry for the l8 reply i already have ruile book and codex :party2: