Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If I have 2 psychic hoods can I use them both when the enemy casts a power? Why/why not?
Also, the Blood Angel Psychic hood seems to be worded differently than the other psychic hoods:
"Declare use after opponent has uses a psychic power. Both players roll a D6 and add their models leadership to the score. If the Librarian scores higher, then the power may not be used."
This would imply it can be used against powers that don't require a test (like warlock powers) since it says it is used after the power is used. Unlike the other hoods that are used after a test is passed.
So far it's the only one that doesn't include the wording on taking psychic tests - Codex: Space Marines and Dark Angels do use the wording "After a psychic test..." so I'd be wary of taking the provisional BA codex at its word.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
Shut up and play.
Now just to go against the grain, in an errata I read that psyhoods could dispell a warlock power if not used otherwise. But then in the eldars turn it would be back on again.
I don't know if this was to do with old rules with the Eldar or not, so don't take my word for it. But its something to keep in mind. Maybe someone else will know more about this...
EDIT: Its from Chapter Approved Codex Eldar Q&A v2.0
Which states (tell me if I can't post this)
Q. Can a Space Marine Psychic Hood work against Warlock powers?
And if so, how? When do you get a chance to nullify the Warlock power?
A. Against Enhance, Embolden and Conceal, the Librarian can use his
Psychic Hood at the start of a Space Marine turn against one Warlock. If he
successfully nullifies the power then it has no effect for the rest of the Space
Marine turn. Against Destructor it works as normal, except of course that there
is no need for the Warlock to pass a Psychic test first simply announce you
are using the Psychic Hood when the Eldar player declares he is using
Interesting! do any of you if the psychic hood works with tyranid powers too? I sure do hope it doesn't work against synapse, since it would make things very difficult for horde armies but against catalyst/psychic scream/warp blast/warp field? it would be nasty to deny zoanthropes and tyrants of their shooting or shields
Considering the precedent set by Eldar Warlock powers and the fact that a Tyranid Synapse Creature essentially has a psychic power that is "always on", I'd say it's logical that you could disrupt their synapse for the Space Marine player's turn, making it slightly useless unless you want to force panic tests and put their units out of position or somesuch thing. But yes, you could. Also, you could use 2 Psychic Hoods to cancel out 2 Synapse Creatures for the Space Marine player's turn. But the BGB reference for Psychic Hoods says specifically that you cannot use two attempts on one power, though you may use two on two separate instances of the same power.
Nid players won't have it. Thats an argument not worth having, better to have a good game in this case, than to try to claim that some pee brained librarian could some how interfere with the Nids hive mind. Leave a feat of that legend for books and maybe special characters.
For the record, I play nids, therefore my curiosity. (I do own a few marines but they're not up to army size yet)
While I agree that librarians should not be allowed to disrupt synapse (and it would be of limited use), lowering the warp field of a flying tyrant (and suddenly making him very vulnerable to missiles) or denying the zoantrhopes of their shots would indeed be quite useful!
Since the hood (RAW) does work with the focused warp blast, and following the warlock example, I could see how it could work on other powers, although I wasn't aware of it.
Eh, Inquisitors are human - not even space marines. Sure they are powerful, but even the most powerful human psychic would pale in comparison to the might of a space marine librarian, as evidenced by rules, and often fluff as well.Or at least wait for the Inquisition codex to come out. Hopefully they may involve a radical xenos inquisitor?
Though this may take some time...
Theres only one good way to disrupt synapse, kill the creatures.