Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have a friend who plays Raven Wing, and I have played against him two times with my Purist Daemonhunters now. I lost both, although the last one was a real close call, down to the very last dice.
Anyway, looking back at the game now, I think he did a major mistake, deliberate or not, that probably cost me the game.
When I attacked his land speeders and I got say two glancing hits, one "imobilized" and one "weapon destroyed" he would give the "weapon destroyed" to one speeder, roll an armor save which he failed, and then remove a weapon.
Then he asigned the "imobilized" result TO THE SAME SPEEDER, roll armor(or is it invulnerable, don't remember) save, fail, and remove the speeder with the broken weapon! And this happend maybe 3-4 times in the same game.
I didn't realize it in the middle of the battle, we where both hyped upp 'cause it was really close, but seeing it now, didn't he cheat bigtime?
Ahh next time Im gonna toast 'em...
Actually by the new rules, if it is a squad, just like bikes the Owner of the unit can chose what damage goes where. Unless assaulted in Base to base contact
why is he making armor saves for his land speeders if you already rolled for armor penitration? if you hit, then you roll armor penitration. roll too low, and nothing hapens, roll high enough and its either glancing or penitrating. Roll on the apropriate chart and deal out the affects to the apropriate vehicles. Were does the armor save come from? is it a special Dark Angels Ravenwing rule? Did the trial vehicle rules change things that much, becuase I don't see armor saves listed in any of the new codex's on vehiclesOriginally posted by Cyine@Mar 31 2004, 10:21
he would give the "weapon destroyed" to one speeder, roll an armor save which he failed
Then he asigned the "imobilized" result TO THE SAME SPEEDER, roll armor(or is it invulnerable, don't remember) save, fail
and unless its changed in the trial vehicle rules, whenever vehicles are in a squad you allocate hits before you see if they penitrate armor. hits are allocated to the closest model first, then evenly destributed through out the squad.
Example: jimy has two devistator squads of space marines. They fire 8 lascannons at one squad of landspeeders (there are 3 landspeeders in the squad), and hits with 6. Tom, Jimy's aponent, allocates the first hit to the landspeeder closest to Jimy's devistators. then to the landspeeder to the right of that first speeder, then to the last one. He does this again, so that each one has taken 2 hits. Jimy rolls for armor penitration. He does not penitrate the armor of the first landspeeder with either of the two hits that were allocated to it (bummer, double 1's, what are the chances). The next landspeeder, he scores a glancing hit, and a penitrating hit. the glancing hit stunns the crew, and the penitrating hit immobilises and kills the land speeder. The third landspeeder takes 2 penitrating hits, rolled by Jimy, and takes two Vehicle destroyed results. the second vehicle destroyed result was a 6, and wounds models within d6 inches, but since only landspeeders are near by it doesn't affect the remaining vehicle.
Thats how it worked before Trial Vehicle rules, don't know if any of it holds true now though.
Hmm... No it can't be armor saves, of course, but he does have "jinx save" (6+ for moving fast) and he also said that master of the Raven Wing has a 4+ invulnerable save. Don't know if those are legit or not, but he is pretty sure they are.
And on another note I think I get the whole thing now. If I fire at a unit of speeders, he first have to asign each of them 1 hit before anyone can take 2 hits, and so forth. Also hits should be allocated BEFORE you roll the results... missed that one too.
But of course if I have damaged a speeders weapon in one turn, and score 1 hit to the scuad next turn, he could (and should, from his p.o.w.) allocate it to the damaged speeder...
Anyway thanks guys, I should look into this a little closer myself...
First of all...
1) Yes, all Raven wing speeders and bike's get a 6+ invulnerable. And the mASter of the Raven wing gets that 4+ save you were talkign about as werll. It is legit.
2) Just like a squad of Infantry, If you hit him 4 times...and get 2 Weapon Destroyed hits, 1 Shaken and one Vehicle destroyed he may...
a: Assign up to ONE of the Weapon destroyed hits to a landspeeder, unless the Speeder has more than oen weapon (i.e. Master of the Ravenwing), if that is the case he may then choose for both of the weapons to be destroyed on the one speeder. If the SPeeder has only one weapon however the second hit must be allocated to a different Speeder.
b: He may assaign the shaken result to the SAME speeder sinc eit has not recieved a 'Crew Shaken' hit yet. if you had scored two 'shaken' hits then he would have to allocate them among 2 speeders. But he is well within the rules to score multiple hits of varying degrees upon one speeder, however he must nominate the speeder to take the hits.
c: He may choose to allocate one Weapon Destroyed, Crew shaken, and the Vehicle destroyed hit ont he same speeder as tehy are not the same scores. The other Weapon destroyed MUST be score don another vehicle.
d: In the case of the master of the Raven wing, shoudkl he opt to use the 4+ invulnerable save on yoru hits, he is nominating that Speeder to take all the hits. So if He fails on a Weapon Destropyd, Vehicle destroyed witht he 4+ Invulnerable save then the mAster of the Raven wing is destroyed and may NOT be used on another lesser speeder.
There are 12 Vehicle Damaged rsuelts on the tabel. Ruled as follows for squadrons of vehicle's...
1) No one vehicle may take multiple hits fromt he same Table(EXCEPT: Weapon destroyed if there is more than one weapom on the vehicle), the additionals cores must be nominated on a different, unaffected model. So Each vehicle may take ALL 6 of the hits from the glancing table if they are all somehow rolleda t the same time.
EXCEPTION: Skimmers are destroyed if they are immobilised, so this result would mean any additional 'Vehicle Destroyed' rolls must be allocated to different models within the unit.
This is where the result of your inquiry lies.