Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've been told that you can use grenades in close combat. Is this true? I looked throught the rule book and found nothing stating this. The only thing that comes close to this is when a model uses death or glory againts vehicule. Could anyone describe this for me in detail of how using grenades in close combat works?
It's in the rule book mate just look closer.
Grenades can be used in close combat against foes to give certain benefits, they aren't actually made to do damage, except when used against tanks. Grenades can be used against tanks to attempt at scoring a penetrating or glancing hit, I won't go into detail that's up to you, just check the rule book.
Grenades are for combat, yeppa, but as Taipan said usually it's for some kind of benefit rather than outright damage (Armour is usually an exception).
Grenades- BGB P.39 (close combat)
BGB P.70 (CC vs Armour)
Rule of thumb, the only ones to actually use a Grenade for damage against 'non-armour' units are Tyranid Hunter Veterans
I got the part about frags, plasma and photon grenades. They have passive effects which alters iniative but what about kraks and melta? Can my officer who has krak and melta bombs use them in close combat? If so, does it work the same way has using any other weapon or is there some special rule to it?
Like everybody suggests, check the rule book. Krak and melta bombs are used in CC against vehicles.
EDIT: I have joyful memories of having a 5 man squad of stormtroopers charged by a Black Templar Dreadnought which - of course, missed all it's attacks. So my five guys do the only thing they can do and defend themselves with their krakgrenades. Two hits, one glancing - vehicle destroyed. Great success! \o/
You may recall that earlier editions of 40k allowed you to throw grenades. This is no longer the case. Period.
Check out the rulebook, the rules for grenades appear where they are relevant so if you look in the close combat section you will find the rules for grenades that affect close combat etc etc.